Today's music?

Gordon - "self titled" (1999 - Sony Music)..Like Semisonic? This band is in the same vein......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Aug. 05, 2003 - 8:35 p.m.

Housetraining a puppy is SO MUCH FUCKIN� FUN!�.so, please bear with me for this long, rambling entry ( with several photos from Sunday for you, too)�..

(Sarcasm alert!)I forgot how much fun it was to housebreak a puppy. That is, until last night.

I took Jay (our new puppy, for those who might have missed yesterday�s entry) outside all evening, every half hour. He still managed to poop on the carpet behind my computer chair around 7:30. While I was sitting at the computer, too.

I am keeping a closer eye on him tonight, as I type this entry. Don�t want that mess again.

I took him out for the last time before we went to bed at 10:30. He had just peed outside, so I thought I was safe for a few hours.

Not.

I awoke at 12 midnight to the smell of- you guessed it- more poop. He didn�t make a sound until after he made the mess inside of his carrier/cage. I hauled him downstairs (still having trouble with the steps, but doing much better today), waited for him to pee again, and brought him back upstairs. Lease held him while I sprayed and wiped out the floor of his cage. Put a clean towel inside of the cage, put Jay back inside of the cage, and went outside to put the mess (inside of a plastic Kroger bag) into the garbage can.

When I returned to the room, maybe 5 minutes later, I couldn�t believe how bad the bedroom smelled. Lease had fallen back asleep, so she didn�t notice it. I went into the computer room, grabbed a flashlight, and returned to the bedroom.

He had pooped again.

No kiddin� (I would say my usual �No shit�, but that wouldn�t be correct here, now would it?)

After another cleanup, I put Jay back into his cage.

He slept until about 3 am, and then woke me up with his pacing. By this time, I wasn�t about to fall into deep sleep.

I hurried him outside, and he peed once again.

Actually, all he did was dribble a little. Better outside than inside the cage again.

The alarm woke us at 5 am. Jay was already awake, waiting to be let outside again.

Need I tell you that he did both outside as soon as I put him out?

No, I don�t.

Look, I have done the whole ,�Good Boy!� when he does make it outside. So far today, he has had only a little dribble of pee in his cage all day. Tonight, he went outside several times. I shut him off from food at 6 pm, and the water dish went up about 7.

Hopefully, that will help empty all of his storage tanks before bedtime, leaving us a better night of sleep.

If not, Jay is spending tonight in his cage in Codeman�s room anyway. We will trade off every other night until Jay can be trusted.

Wish us luck�


Damn, do I sound like the parent of a newborn infant or what? Spending one whole Word� page, discussing my �baby�s� waste functioning?

Sorry about that. On to other things�


A few photos from the last day of Mohall Celebration (Sunday- yes, I am behind. I think I have explained why already�):

(Sarcasm alert #2!)First off- I resisted the urge to put rabbit fingers behind the Pope�s head. Hard to do, but I managed somehow.

I wanted to ask him about his recent condemnation of homosexual marriage, and how that seems a little hard to take seriously considering how his subordinates just move lower level employees (re: priests) around after they are caught having sex with small children.

But, Sunday was the end of this year�s Celebration, and I didn�t want to get into it with him over church doctrine anyway.

Please note: If you are a practicing Catholic, and are offended in any way by the last few paragraphs, remember one thing- humor, folks. It�s called sarcasm, even if I don�t do that good of a job writing it.


Several shots of the band The Outfield:

They seem to still enjoy playing for a crowd, even if 99% of the people watching Sunday had no idea who they were aside from the song �Your Love� (which they closed both sets with).

Lead singer Tony Lewis, hitting a high note.

If you squint real hard, you can see Lewis over my left shoulder. Lease said she wanted a photo of me, enjoying the show. I think her photo captures how I was feeling pretty well.

One last shot, for cariboutwo:

The man on the right is the soon-to-be 55 year old Mark Farner, former lead guitarist and singer for the 70�s rock band Grand Funk Railroad (who are from cariboutwo�s hometown, as she pointed out to me today ;)

He now tours as �Mark Farner and Common Ground�, but everything he played on stage Sunday was from his Grand Funk days. He looks like he could go a few rounds in the boxing ring, he is in such good shape, and can still play a guitar like a young man. It was nice to hear some of the songs that I remember from back BEFORE I was in high school. The �kids� he has playing in Common Ground are all young enough to be his own children, and they have his original music down.

We watched their first set, and then wandered around until the second set by The Outfield. After that, we just made it around the downtown area, stopping now and then to talk to friends, old and new.

Next year will be the 19th year of this event.

So many of these town celebrations have died in communities the size of Mohall (under 100,000 people, for those not familiar with my home town).

It would be a huge shame if we ever loose this once-a-year get together in our old downtown area.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top