Today's music?

Gordon - "self titled" (1999 - Sony Music)..Like Semisonic? This band is in the same vein......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Aug. 06, 2003 - 8:01 p.m.

Several random thoughts and musings , plus a canning update�..

After 10 days of setting the Havaheart trap, I have captured a grand total of 4 squirrels.

Only one was of the large, red, bushy-tailed variety, though. The other three were common ground squirrels, harmless to my peach crop.

The trap is always set when I leave for work. It is always tripped when I come home. It usually is empty. Sometimes there is still the ear of corn in the bait section. Sometimes there is nothing.

Even though I haven�t captured another peach-eatin� squirrel since last week, the setup seems to have deterred any large-scale removal of my unripe fruit. I don�t know if that one tree rat was my biggest antagonist, or if the capture of him scared the rest of the pack off. All I know is I have only had a few dozen partially eaten peaches to pick up off the ground since I started this battle. Even if they hit it hard the next few days, I will still get enough fruit to do everything I want with this year.

The peaches are less than a week from full ripeness. I will probably pick about half of the crop tomorrow, so they will finish ripening inside for the weekend. I plan on making a large batch of peach salsa (that mention will get me Googled a bunch for the next few days. It always does when I write about it here) either Friday or Saturday. Might even throw together another batch of jam, too. That seems to be the one variety that everyone asks for first from my pantry�..


Speaking of Google, here are the most recent bizarre links to this webpage from that search engine, plus several others:

�Fucked up on endocet� (hum- don�t remember writing about that subject)

�Get stoned on everyday plants��..(this one sounds interesting)

�Vicoprofen lawsuits� �(Do I sense a pattern here?)

Kvasir- �Fuck inn the garden� (Those Norwegians! First the Beatles write a song about their �wood�, and then someone looks for another kind of wood on the local search engine and ended up here?)

And, of course- �nude pics of Anna Nichole smith� �(that one never goes away- kinda like Anna herself)

Just thought I would get you up to date on what brings surfers here by mistake�.


Jay had a good night, but backslid today. His cage was wet when I came home, and after letting him outside for an hour, I brought him into the kitchen while I worked on salsa (see below).

Right when I was ladling the salsa into the jars, he decided it was time to go to the bathroom. He didn�t bother telling me, though.

Nothing like stopping right in the middle of what you are doing to clean up doggie droppings�..


Yesterday�s canning operation: Nectarine Butter.

The squirrels hit that tree on Saturday, so I picked the remaining fruit Sunday morning.

By Monday evening, some of the nectarines had already started to mold. I threw a few away, and started on the processing job as soon as I came home yesterday.

I had to throw out around 10 fuzzy gray balls, but the remainder of the 5-gallon bucket was still fine. After blanching the fruit to remove the skin, I made a Rubbermaid bowl full of Nectarine salsa with a bit of the ripest ones, and then processed the rest into butter. This took about 2 � hours, start to finish. I canned up 16 half-pints, and put the rest into old yogurt containers to hand out today at work.

Fruit butters have about � the sugar of other preserves, so they have to be better for you than sweet , sticky jam. But they also take a lot longer to make, since you don�t add pectin to the mix. It has to cook down until it thickens naturally.

Good stuff, though.

I guess this is where I thank the squirrels for not taking all of my nectarines, right?

Not likely�..


Tonight�s canning operation: My first batch of canned salsa of the year.

I had enough ripe tomatoes to bake a big batch, too. I ended up with 19 pints, which meant I had to do two batches in the water bath canner.

I aimed to make mild salsa, but my peppers seem to be hotter than Hell this year , for some reason. It will be labeled �medium� tomorrow, after the jars cool off.

Tomorrow�s canning operation: hopefully- nothing.

But my seeded Catawba grapes are getting close, and there are those peaches to be taken care off (especially if a bunch of them drop to the ground tomorrow- I picked up a dozen nice, overripe ones this evening).

I think I need a night off.

I�m starting to get a little bit tired here��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top