Today's music?

Visqueen - "King Me" (2003 - Blue Disguise records) ...If Cheap Trick came out in 2003, and had a woman singing lead vocals, t



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Aug. 08, 2003 - 6:03 p.m.

Friday photos (of Jay, peach products, and�.. flowers?)

You know how hard it is to take a photo of a moving object?

That describes our puppy Jay to the T.

He is a constant blur of motion. He has Tony Bonehead looking for hiding places, just to get a break from Jay�s constant nipping and wrestling. As big as Tony is, hiding is a hard thing for him to accomplish.

Jay is slowly picking up housetraining. He hasn�t had an accident inside of his cage since the first day. He woke me up at 12 and 2:30 am last night, pacing on the plastic floor of his cage. I then took him down the steps and outside, where he immediately went to the bathroom.

So he has the idea of going outside going on now.

If we can just get him to the point where he can hold his bodily functions until morning, we will have it made�.


I did take off 2 hours early today (personal business), and processed the full bucket of peaches into both spiced peach jam (10 half and 2 full pints) and mild peach salsa (11 pints). Took me about 3 hours, start to finish.

I also picked up another 10 or so peaches from the ground today. The squirrels have mounted a new offensive, knocking peaches to the ground and trampling my 3 puny sunflower plants (all that was left after the chipper truck backing incident last month). One was only 2 feet tall, and had grown as a volunteer near the side door. I figure it came from the bird feeder. It was on the ground last night, stripped of its seed heads.

Then today, the tree rats brought down the two red sunflower plants that managed to survive the chipper�s tires. All but two of the flowers were gone, presumably hidden away for a meal on another day.

The trap?

Empty, and un-tripped. I figure it won�t catch another squirrel until after all of the peaches are gone. I will bait it with a peanut butter/sunflower seed covered hard roll in a few days, in the hope that without any living food to steal, they will go for the next best thing.

Until then, I will loose a handful of semi-ripe peaches a day.

I have come to the acceptance of that fact. I can�t keep them away, so I will just have to let them have a few until I harvest the last of them. Then, the battle continues to remove as many of these destructive creatures as possible before the next crop forms next summer.

Like I said before- I might loose a battle, but I will win this war. Already, I have been able to harvest Apricots, Nectarines, and now peaches- even though they keep coming back.

By this time next year, I plan on being squirrel-free��.


That is one of the two flowers not removed from the broken sunflower stalk.

I though I better take a photo of it, before they return for the rest�


Last photo of the day:

This is a close-up of a bright red �Pumila Cut and Come Again� zinnia in the pepper bed. I didn�t have to enhance the colors one bit- these silver dollar-sized blooms are always full of color. I hoped to capture one of the butterflies feeding on the nectar of a bloom, but they never land on them when I have a camera in my hand�..


Our local �weekend� section of the newspaper had a long article about Blogs, and why people write these things. They only mentioned Diaryland as an afterthought. I guess this isn�t really a blog, since those seem to consist of multiple entries on a single page (right? I don�t know)

The writers seem to think that writing an online diary is either a waste of time, or an act of dishonesty by the writer. They wrote that since most people let friends or family know about their diary, that means they won�t tell everything for fear of angering one of them. That was the conclusion the came to, anyway.

They also decided that this exercise will go down as just another fad. People will get bored with writing about their meaningless little lives, and find the next pet rock or hula hoop to catch their eye.

I think they are full of shit, btw.

I look at this �journal� as an outlet to vent my anger, express my happiness, and pour out my inter thoughts, whether it is for anyone else who wants to read it, or for my own purposes only.

That, and it gives me a place to post my photos, too ;)

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top