Today's music?

Marc Copely - "*Limited Lifetime Guarantee" - (2002 -RCA Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Aug. 10, 2003 - 7:59 p.m.

Jay the Backslider, Lease is another day older, and too many cowboy hats at the fair yesterday�

Jay was doing so well in the housebreaking department. He hasn�t had an accident inside of his cage for 5 days, except for a little dribble on his towel/blanket yesterday. That was to be expected, since we were away at the fair for almost 7 hours.

Today was a bad day, though. He had plenty of time outside to do his business, but he slipped away twice to poop and once to pee while we were occupied with other things. He backslid worse than a Pentecostal preacher, drunk at the Mustang Ranch in Las Vegas.

I guess this is what I get for not watching him every second of the day. It�s back to work tomorrow, so he will be in the cage all day. Codeman is still on vacation in the Ozarks, so Lease and I are the only ones who can let him out.

Maybe being in the cage all day will keep him in check. I hope so, anyway�.


Don�t tell anyone, but Lease had a birthday today. For the next few weeks, she is officially 2 years older than me.

Lease doesn�t do birthdays well. She wants me to make sure nothing major (as in a big party) happens, and I respect that. She didn�t have much as far as celebrating of her birthday when she was growing up, and now that we are growing older she doesn�t like to reflect on the next number (�Are you reelin� in the years? /stowin� away the time? / Are you gatherin� up your tears?/Have you had enough of mine?).

She slept in until 11 am. I made her here favorite Sunday morning breakfast (hash browns, scrambled eggs with cheese, and toast). Gave her a back massage. Gave her a card I made on the computer. Etc. Etc. Etc.

Nearly everyone in the family called or stopped by, wishing her a happy birthday.

She said that today was a good birthday, so that makes me happy�


We went to the State fair yesterday. Luckily, we didn�t run into Little Napoleon, or new governor/liar. I wouldn�t have wanted to have to tell him how full of shit he is, after all. I think he already knows this, but I wouldn�t pass up the opportunity to remind him if we had stumbled upon him.

Last night was the night for the big country music act (don�t ask me who- I try to remain ignorant to country music. From the pictures on the middle-aged women�s t-shirts , I would guess he is a �Himbo�. A male, country music equivalent of Brittany Spears maybe?).

We left before the show began, and drove home against the enormous traffic jam this show had created outside of the main entrances. Cars and pickup trucks (mostly pickup trucks) were backed up for at least 100 vehicles at all of the gates, and it was less than an hour before the show. I really doubt that everyone made it in before the first note was played, causing many �Shoots!� �Dag Nabbits!� and �Dangs it Alls!� to pour from the windows of 4x4�s.��..


We basically spent the day eating the Atkin�s diet. I didn�t want to force my acid reflux into overdrive, so I tried to avoid all of the fried foods that fairs are known for.

BTW- who was the first person who decided to toss a Snickers bar into the fryer? Or a Twinkie? Dill Pickle? Sounds like pot-induced munchies were involved, along with a surplus of soybean oil.

Anyway�.

Every tent you entered (�North Dakota Pork Producers� or �Cattlemen of the Dakotas�) had samples for you to taste. The cattlemen had a new cut of steak that was very good. It was created to find a use for all of the beef chuck roast that is no longer imported into Japan and Korea, due to the bad economies over there (did you know that over � of all beef chuck was exported to the far east before their economies went down the tubes a few years back? That�s a lot of beef!) .

The people who work in laboratories for the cattlemen found a way to make cross-cuts into the grain of the chuck, remove the connecting tendon, and end up with a very tender , thick cut of beef steak. Much more tender than sirloin, but not filet by any means.

The man cutting the cooked steaks into sample sized- pieces said that the cut would be in local stores soon, with a national push from the �Beef. It�s what�s for dinner� commercials to follow.

While talking to him, I think I ate 10 pieces of this steak. As long as we were talking to the spokesman, he kept handing me more of the 1� square chunks of beefy goodness.

Lease and I also split a skewer of grilled elk meat, a butterfly pork chop sandwich (yeah, I know- no bread on Adkins), and an order of Jamaican jerk chicken from the Ethnic Village.

Lotta meat for one day for me, that�s for sure. I didn�t even eat dinner, once we were safely at home��


I might not make it here tomorrow.

I have another 5-gallon bucket of peaches to process (just canned peaches this time- nothing special), and enough tomatoes for a double-batch of salsa, too.

I think I will catch up with the garden before the week is over.

If not? Everyone I know will be getting goodie bags of fruit and produce��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top