Today's music?

Rooney - "Rooney" (2003 - Geffen records)...great album from one of Abi's favorite bands.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2003 - 8:37 p.m.

Codeman�s home, the tomatoes are processed (most of them, anyway), and I need some sleep�.

Yeah, the boy survived his canoe trip in the Ozarks. He isn�t even sun burnt, that I could tell anyway.

He caught 3 whole fish (Rainbow trout), at a cost of $8 each, after buying a license and daily permit.

They better have tasted good, that�s all I can say�


I made salsa tonight.

A bunch of it.

26 pints, 22 of which were canned and processed. The other 4 would have required another processing water bath, making it 3 for the afternoon. It was already 5:30, and I was worn out.

I just put the last 4 into clean jars with old lids and let them cool off outside of the canner. They will be put into the �fridge tonight, to be consumed in the next few days.

I have a package of boneless, skinless chicken breasts in said �fridge.

Maybe fajitas for dinner tomorrow night?

Sounds good to me�


The Catawba grapes are still on the vine.

Tree rats don�t seem interested in consuming them (18 nice partially-eaten peaches on the ground tonight,btw), so I will just let them produce more sugar for a few moredays. Jam and juice to be made this weekend, if time permits�.


About the peaches?

I decided to pick any that were even close to ripening tonight, before the tree rats ruin them all.

They filled my large 6-gallon bucket. I put them in the basement, and will let them slowly ripen for the next 2 days.

Friday I will burn either 2 or 4 hours of my personal business time, and make them into, well, something. That is the question right now.

If you have any creative suggestions for what I can make the peaches into (besides jam or salsa), leave me a note here.

If we can�t come up with anything else, they will become another 20 or so pints of sliced peaches in medium sugar syrup.

I�ll eat them all winter in my lunch, if nothing else��


I think there might have been close to 2 gallons of wasted tomatoes (on the ground in my garden) when I picked the ripe ones for salsa tonight (nice run-on sentence, eh?)

That�s what happens when time runs out on me. I have let parts of my garden go to Hell the past few weeks. I can only process so much and still keep up on the weeds and such.

I have a bunch of nice green beans in need of picking, and my potatoes at work are turning green because of sunlight exposure. My broccoli at work has gone to flower (pretty, but not much good for the table), and the weed grasses have taken over my squash beds.

Oh well- I can only do so much with the time I have for gardening. I haven�t even wet a fishing line in a couple of weeks now (about the time the first tomatoes came ripe, now that I think about it). Summer will be over soon, and undone tasks aren�t worth wasting time dwelling over.

This time last year, I was moaning about how bad my garden had turned out. No rain, too much heat. Poor harvests of most everything, and no wild berries and apples to pick at all (my various wild apple trees are LOADED this summer! Looks like a bumper harvest to be processed next month.)

I would much rather have the problems I have had this year (too much to properly harvest, more than we can eat at any given time) than that kinda year any time�.


I am reaching that wall of exhaustion. Might be the new meds, but I doubt it. I just need to step back and take it a little slower for a couple of days, I think.

I really need to try to catch up on a few diaries anyway, so I�ll leave you now�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top