Today's music?

The Exies - "Inertia" (2002 - Virgin Records)...great overlooked album from last year.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Aug. 15, 2003 - 10:27 p.m.

I guess I deserved this�plus, �My name is Roadiepig, and I am a canning addict��.and, �Say hello to my �second� little friend��

(Long entry, but a couple of photos to try to make it worth your time)

Remember last night, when I was ranting about the Dickweeds running the NDDOT?

I know- nobody read yesterday�s entry. Here is what I wrote: �I swear, all of this crap is enough to make an honest person sick���

I guess that means I am a honest person, because I woke up several times last night, Ralphing up my guts.

Regurgitating, in other words.

Not the way I want to spend a night. It did make it easier to take Jay outside, though. Every time I woke up and ran to the bathroom, I took him out after I finished removing buffet Chinese food from my body.

I imagine everyone has left my �journal� at this point, but I will keep on writing anyway�.

I used a sick day. I hardly ever take a sick day, and I have almost 1000 hours worth of unused time banked in case I ever break a bone or something. The only person at our storage with more time than me is Beavis. I am not proud of the fact that Beav and I have saved so much sick time, but facts are facts.

I went back to bed after calling myself in, and slept until I felt a little better. Since I had so many ripe things that needed to be processed, I decided to do what I could with the way I felt.

He is a photo of my end product:

Canning overkill- I know.

August is always a little hectic, but this year it�s been crazy. Everything has come ready at the same time. The peppers are early, the peaches are late. The grapes are so full of sugar they taste like candy, so it was time to make jam.

For those keeping track, here is what is in the photo:

18 pints of peaches in medium syrup (2 cycles in the water bath canner).

3- 1 � pints jars and 11- pint jars of Jalapeno peppers (also 2 cycles).

20- half pints and one pint of Catawba grape jam (2 cycles too).

The white stuff in the small jars in the front of the photo? That is an experiment- sweet pickled garlic.

I have had two people praise this item in the past month, so I decided to take some of my harvest and try my hand at it.

It will take two months to �cure�, so I won�t know if it was worth the reduction of my year-round supply or not until then.

I won�t be canning anything tomorrow, so you can put off the intervention for a couple of days or so�


Caught squirrel #2 today.

Actually, I caught 3 squirrels today. Only 2 of them were the same little ground squirrels I have caught at least 5 times each in the past 3 weeks. I just let them go, as soon as I saw they were in the trap.

Why did I have so much action, after nothing for several days?

Easy- I picked the rest of the peaches today. I noticed 3 large red squirrels, eating the remaining fruit on the tree, first thing this morning. Because of that, I gave up and picked the remaining fruit at 10 am (about 3 gallons worth).

When I took the dogs out at 11, I noticed several red squirrels in the Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!, looking down longingly at the now-bare peach tree. One even had his tail drooping towards the ground.

Over 1 month of free fruit had come to an end. I even picked up any remaining partially eaten fruit from the ground, just to make sure they had only one option left- my Havaheart trap.

I loaded it up with one very small, unripe peach smeared with peanut butter.

I had to release two of the ground squirrels in the next hour.

Nothing else happened until about 4 pm. I was on the phone, talking to my dad, when I noticed the trap was tripped. After gazing at it (from about 75 feet away), I saw a red blur moving back and forth:

He didn�t want his photo taken, as you can tell by this shot. It was the best of 8 I took of him, minutes before I released him at the church several miles south of here (Lease drove, since I was home today, sick. I let him out, because she didn�t have any desire to open the trap. She thought he might run right to her ankles, biting away. Instead, he ran across the street and climbed a large Oak tree in the yard located there instead).

There was still one red squirrel hanging around the back yard when we returned home. It didn�t get caught tonight, but I expect positive results in the near future�..


I�ll leave you with a web site:

No, this isn�t a joke. There really is a company that makes this aptly-named product.

Since we are out of this commodity at work, and the contract with the vendor has expired, maybe I can slip this supply into our storage?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top