Today's music?

Chance the Gardener - "The Day the Dogs Took Over" (1996- Warner Brothers Records) Pretty cool roots-rock (think Wilco)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Aug. 20, 2003 - 5:44 p.m.

A short entry, with a Doppelganger for Jay, and a boy who might be looking for a job�.

Hell day didn�t turn out too bad.

The new head of the NDDOT was in town for some big announcement, but he didn�t bother any of our work crews or stop by the storage.

Shame.

I REALLY wanted to meet the man who tells the press that we are a bunch of non-workers every chance he gets. I even had the idea of getting an orange t-shirt (our un-official uniform, don�t �cha know?) that was silk-screened with something like �A proud member of the working 90%!� or �I�m not in the 10%!�, just in his honor (from his comments back in June, noted here).

I might still get one made up. I�ll just keep it in the toolroom, and if I ever hear he is on his way to �visit� us, I can switch into it�


The inspection by the guy from the Department of Labor went well.

He has to write us up for some violations, or he doesn�t get a paycheck 9I�m guessing here, but�)

Here are the things that caught his eye:

1. No ground fault circuit interrupter (GCFI, for short) outlets below the water fountain and in the one outlet in the bathroom. I guess this is something new they are worried about, because they are the same outlets that have been there since the building was constructed, 24 years ago.

2.Two missing fire extinguishers Both of them were in the toolroom, where they have sat since they were recharged last month. A minor oversight, and when I showed them to him, he took the violation off of the report.

3. No �toe rail� on the loft over the wire cage. Another new thing- we have to cut some 1�x4� boards to mount at floor level in this loft. I guess it is to keep any runaway paint cans from leaping to the floor from the loft. No big deal.

4. One of our old wooden ladders is unsafe, so he dead lined it. Yeah, that is news to me. I have only been asking to replace it since back when I painted our equipment! That was 6+ years ago. No work shelf on the top, one broken rung support near the middle- this has been an accident waiting to happen for some time now. Since it costs more than $100 to replace it, the headquarters people have put us off for buying one. They can�t do that anymore, can they?

5. Clutter in front of one of our circuit board panels in the break room (my bad). I had stacked a few folding chairs against the wall near the breaker panel. I could still reach the circuit breakers, but he couldn�t. Hence, the violation.

Like I said- no big deal.

The inspector is one of our new Little man the Governors �appointments�.( Note- the state of North Dakota has an official �hiring freeze�, put into effect the day he took office last January. He has made several hundred �job appointments� since that day for jobs he wanted filled with his people. That way, he gets around his own freeze, and bypasses the official rules of hiring state employees, set down by a court decision many years back. Slick, huh?) He had a bad 1940�s B-actor mustache (pencil thin, just above his lip), labored hard just catching his breath in the 90� + heat, and a very swarthy (is that the word I am looking for? Short, greasy, angry- that sound like it?) demeanor.

To get by with those piddly violations, we must have caught him on one of his good days��


Codeman might be unemployed as you read this.

Seems he has angered his 23-year old boss by complaining about her skipping out on work, and blaming him for everything that doesn�t get done at his new job. I think she is just itching to fire him because he has called her on her poor work habits, and because she wants to show the rest of her teenaged employees that she is in charge.

Nothing he said about her is untrue. He just should have kept it to himself.

Minimum wage jobs are a dime a dozen.

She will miss his hard work more than he will miss working for her�..


Last thing:

In honor of Cosmiccrayola, I have decided to post a drawing off of a cd cover that is the doppelganger of Jay, our new pup.

You tell me if they don�t look the same�

This Jay.

This is the front cover of the cd �The Day the Dogs took Over�, by the band Chance the Gardener (1996-Warner Brothers Records).

Pretty eerie, huh?

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top