Today's music?

Chance the Gardener - "The Day the Dogs Took Over" (1996- Warner Brothers Records) Pretty cool roots-rock (think Wilco)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Aug. 21, 2003 - 7:41 p.m.

Hotter than Hell here (well, at least it�s France-like, anyway)�.Plus- the boy is unemployed, and a photo to give you the heebie-geebies�.

Today�s high was 98�.

That makes today the hottest day of the summer. Not 100�+, but so humid you could cut the air with a knife.

Miserable, I�m telling you.

I did my bets to keep busy in the air-conditioned areas of the storage. Believe me, I know how lucky I am to have the toolroom job. I spent 12 or 13 years painting in the cold bays (only �cold� in the winter. I guess they should be called the hot bays in the summer), wearing a Tyvek� paint suit that sealed at my ankles, wrists, and around my face. I sweated off a couple of gallons of water a day in conditions like these.

We had a couple of crews working on the pavement today. They took turns flagging, so no one was stuck in that job for long. With the new high-vis vests they have to wear (closed fabric for refectiveness, so they do not breathe at all), plus pavement temperatures reaching 130� and more, flagging can be a deadly job on very hot days.

Everybody made it in to the storage alive, so that�s a good thing�


Codeman ended up getting fired today.

His �boss� didn�t even wait for him to walk into the store. She stopped him at the door, and in front of the other employees, she told him why she didn�t need his services anymore (talking bad about the �boss� behind her back was her excuse). This, after she used him to paint the bare walls, haul everything in his truck to set things up (cages and such). After all that, she fired him for basically telling the truth about her (she is only showing up for 10-15 hours a week, leaving a bunch of 18 year olds to run the place).

She won on this issue. But she better not get to smug in victory- the 2 vets that really weren�t sold on her becoming the manager in the first place are a little angry on how she handled Codeman�s dismissal, not to mention the fact they don�t like how little she has been showing up for work (hum- Codeman was right on that, huh?)

Codeman is without work for the first time since he was 12 years old (he has always worked for one of the 3 vets who own the puppy and kitten adoption center). The people at his old job (the vets office) all want him back, but they don�t have an opening in the afternoons right now. It might be best for him to move along anyway- working with your aunt for that long is nice, but it�s not the real world.

He won�t be unemployed for long, because he is willing to work part time with no benefits. Always plenty of jobs out there that fit that description.

He applied at Circuit City ,after leaving the mall. He thinks he would like to work in the computer or camera department. He knows more than a little about each, and he is a quick learner.

They would be lucky to get him�..


I�ll leave you with one of a series of 5 photos that a friend sent me in an email today. They were taken by an employee for Oklahoma Gas and Electric, and show the �surprise� that one of their people had when they opened a circuit breaker box somewhere out on the road:

I have no idea what kind of snakes are living inside of the box, but they sure look angry. They kinda look like Black Rat snakes, but I don�t know for sure. I have no knowledge of the species of snakes that live in Oklahoma.

I kept all 5 photos of the sequence. I didn�t want to burn up that much file storage space posting them all here, but I will gladly forward them to anyone who asks for them.

That is, if anyone besides me isn�t totally creeped out by photos of large snakes��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top