Today's music?

The Jelly Jam - "The Jelly Jam" (2002- Inside Out Music)..the latest solo project from Ty Tabor (of King's X) - very good



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Aug. 25, 2003 - 8:39 p.m.

Long, tiring day�.

I burned 4 hours of vacation time today to help my dad and step mom move to their new apartment.

Since they are using a professional mover to haul all the large stuff tomorrow, they just wanted help with fragile, personal, and other such things today.

We managed to cram my Hillbilly truck full to the top of the back window twice, and were able to move everything that fit this description in about 3 hours.

We could have done it in half the time, but nobody else could make it over to help us. Codeman had classes until 2 (we started at 11), my bro-in-law Mark had something happen that kept him away (health-related, I think my dad said).

Of course, my worthless step brothers just couldn�t drag themselves away from their television or computer screens long enough to help.

I guess there has to be a decent sum of money involved to get their attention�.


The high temperature today was 95�, with high humidity.

Great weather to be moving heavy boxes in. Tomorrow promises more of the same.

We have had one day in the last 8 that the high temperature was below 90�. That was Saturday, and the high was still 87�

Fall can�t get here fast enough for me��


I did what any sane person would do, after sweating my ass off, hauling boxes up two flights of stairs for 3 hours.

I went home and made a bunch of salsa (at this point, it�s mild to medium on the �hot� scale).

Made 25 pints (biggest batch ever, I think), and processed 22 of them in the water bath canner. All but one has sealed. I know to wait on any late sealing jar- often they find a way to seal after I go to bed. If not, that unsealed jar still can be eaten, as long as it is put in the �fridge in the morning.

The other three pints are in unsealed jars, already chilled. I�ll get them into someone�s hands in the next couple of days.


I had so many ripe tomatoes, I had to use both halves of the sink to cool them down (after blanching them in hot water to remove their skins). I don�t think I have ever done that before, in all of my years of canning.

After processing the salsa, I ended up with another 6 quarts of sliced tomatoes. These I put into another stockpot and slowly cooked until they were soft. The resulting watery pulp was pressed through a wire colander, leaving me with 3 full quarts of tomato juice. After adding salt and pepper (and nothing else), this was divided up into 2 freezer Ziploc� bags.

They will make a nice addition to two batches of chilli, later this winter�..


I�m tired, so I am out of here.

Thanks for all the kind words in my g-book. I never know what y�all will think when I post my photos here at D-land. When someone writes that they like something I took, it always brings a smile to my face �..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top