Today's music?

The Jelly Jam - "The Jelly Jam" (2002- Inside Out Music)..the latest solo project from Ty Tabor (of King's X) - very good



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Aug. 28, 2003 - 7:42 p.m.

Brutal photo of an open wound (taken just before ripping flesh away, looking for life)�.plus- making something besides salsa out of my tomatoes (for once)�..

Yeah, I can be dangerous with a knife in my hands.

I made one swift, vicious cut all the way through the poor thing, never showing it one bit of mercy.

My goal? Remove any future life from the victim. Make sure I leave nothing behind that could produce future growth.

I think I accomplish my violent task����..

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Sick puppy, ain�t I?

I let the giant tomato sit until tonight, letting it become mushy and worthless, foodstuff- wise.

The point was to let the seeds mature just a few days longer inside of the fruit. This has worked well for me in the past. I think it gives the seeds a little more time fully develop, increasing the odds that they will be viable for starting new bedding plants next spring.

This tomato produced at least 50 seeds, which is very good for this paste-type variety. To put things in perspective- you can sometimes get 50 seeds out of one decent-sized cherry tomato! When you add in the fact that these seeds won�t germinate as well as hybrid varieties do, and that means I might have a 2-year supply of seeds.

That is, if I don�t have any luck growing them next year. If they grow well, I won�t have to scrounge around, hoping to find some seeds again in the future.

I put the standard �Viva Roma� paste tomato and the U.S. Quarter next to the open tomato, just to help you put things in perspective.

This wasn�t even as big as most of these fruits get, too. You don�t get a bunch of tomatoes per plant, but the size makes up for the lack of quantity.

How do they taste?

Like most paste tomatoes- dry, relatively bland, and somewhat boring.

That isn�t the point.

What is the point?

Growing huge honkin� tomatoes. That�s what the point is���


I had 2 of my 5-gallon buckets filled with ripe tomatoes when I came into the kitchen tonight.

I now have one full bucket still to process.

The other tomatoes?

I filled my 16 quart stock pot to near the top with rough cut tomatoes, added a little water to keep them from sticking, and set it to boil.

About 45 minutes later (and after one slight but messy boil over), I had a pot full of cooked pulp, ready to be made into juice.

I pressed the hot mash through my colander, and ended up with about 2 1/2 gallons of pure tomato juice.

All I added to it was enough salt to make it taste right, and a little ground black pepper for spice.

After it cooled down, I bagged it up in freezer Ziplocs� (4 with 2 quarts , and 4 with 16 ounces or so, for making Bloody Mary�s this winter).

Why didn�t I can them instead?

3 reasons:

1. You have to ad some form of acidifier to tomatoes to water bath can them. That means lemon or lime juice for me. I think that changes the flavor of the juice too much, so I don�t like to go that route.

2. Quarts of tomato juice have to spend a full hour in the water bath. That means a full hour of adding more hot water, and filling the kitchen with more hot, humid air (like we don�t have enough of that around here right now?)

3. I am about sick of canning. I think I might have made that point before��


What about the rest of the tomatoes?

If I have the time and the energy, tomorrow after work they will be made into freezer pasta sauce.

I have a bunch of very ripe Gypsy sweet red peppers that would make a fine sauce if added to these tomatoes.

Maybe, if the high temperature tomorrow stays BELOW 90�, I will make something good out of these ripe fruits��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top