Today's music?

Cheap Trick - "presents.... Special One" (2003 - Big 3 records) New stuff from Cheap Trick is always a good thing......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Sept. 02, 2003 - 7:24 p.m.

The Grand Am is back, but at WHAT COST?!?��plus- a photo, a commercial that turned my belly, and not much else�.

Yeah, the Pontiac dealer made Lease�s car all better.

Didn�t come cheap, though.

Not that I thought it would, but�..

It was the alternator, plus the 6-year-old battery was toast after the car ran on it alone for a few miles.

I avoided the tempting offer of buying a genuine GM Goodwrench 60 month battery, and instead opted for the Interstate brand with the same warranty (and about $25 less, too). It scored near the top in the most recent Consumer Reports testing. If they say it�s a best buy, than I trust them.

I ended up paying them about the same amount as a monthly payment for a new Grand Am (if purchased on a 4 year loan, at around 7.5% interest).

Since I haven�t had a car or truck payment since December 2001, I can�t really complain�..


I was asked by several people today, �Why did you take it to the dealer? Don�t you know how expensive they are?�

Duh, no! I have only been on this planet for almost 42 years, so I have no idea how much things cost. Thanks for telling me this bit of news.

Yes, I knew it would cost me more. But I also knew that they would fix it today, and only fix what needed fixed. I didn�t know if I could trust the Pontiac dealer in Springpatch to do the same, and I didn�t know if my friend Rick could get to it today, or if he would be booked for the rest of the week.

Anyway�.

The car is sitting in the driveway. The fine folks at Visa have me in their debt for a couple of months.

That�s good enough for me�..


Can you answer me this simple question?

What was the advertising firm for McDonalds thinking when they made a commercial involving the removal of bikini wax to sell a their double cheeseburger?

Have you seen this spot?

I couldn�t believe that ANYONE would think that showing the smirking face of a woman, ripping off a strip of wax/hair (if you haven�t seen it, �How long would a bikini waxer have to work to pay for a McDonalds double cheeseburger?� is the ad line) would somehow be appetizing.

Turned my stomach when I saw it today.

And it wasn�t even dinnertime yet�


I wrote your ears off yesterday, so I will end this entry here.

I�ll leave you with a photo I took last evening. The light was low, and there were still drops of rain resting on the foliage of the caladium shown here:

I shot a few more photos of other plants with the raindrops, but many were slightly fuzzy due to camera movement (shaky hands) in the low light.

I should know better than to freehand low light photographs, when all it takes is a minute to attach the Fuji to my tripod��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top