Today's music?

Chance the Gardener - "The Day the Dogs Took Over" (1996- Warner Brothers Records) Pretty cool roots-rock (think Wilco)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Sept. 05, 2003 - 7:56 p.m.

Who needs candles or potpourri, if you have a large pot of tomato sauce simmering on the stove?

I finally got around to doing something with the 5-gallon bucket of mediocre tomatoes after work this evening.

I checked my pantry downstairs, and decided I don�t need another batch of salsa. That doesn�t mean I won�t crank one out before the big killer frost hits in the future, though.

I just don�t need it.

I decided I didn�t feel like going through the whole canning process, either. Too nice of a day to spend the waning hours sweating over the stove.

No, it was going to be something easy, or nothing.

Our deep freeze is stuffed to the gills right now, so I had to be careful what I made. Sef at work restocked my cow and pig this week, after having one of his cows processed earlier in the week. I get some of whatever is leftover from the last trip to the butcher (about 5 months ago), and he gets back some beef jerky (when I have time to make it), and several jars of my garden best year round.

Pretty fair trade, in my book.

Anyway�..

I decided to make another batch of meatless pasta (or spaghetti, if you like that term better) sauce. The last batch I made actually tasted like bottled sauce. Not in a chemical/fake thickening agents kinda way. More in its texture and taste. Not too sweet (like most bottled sauces), and not too salty (ditto). Just more in the way it thickened up.

I also used mostly fresh herbs (basil and oregano, mainly), and a few hot and sweet peppers from the garden. I also dipped into my storage onions and garlic.

I guess you can say that this sauce really is homegrown. The only things added to it I didn�t (or can�t) grow were the olive oil, brown sugar, ground pepper and salt.

One it cooled down, I ladled it into clean quart canning jars, leaving about 2� of top space. This is a lesson I learned the hard way years ago. You don�t fill a canning jar to the normal height if it is going into the deep freeze.

I did that once (and only once). The next day, when I opened the lid of the freezer, I say that all 4 jars had ruptured due to expansion. The sauce inside was useless, because it contained shards of broken glass.

I don�t do that anymore.


I ended up with a total of 6 full quarts, plus about � of a pint jar full extra.

I think several of these jars will go to family, for them to use fresh. I think I can squeeze out enough room in the deep freeze for 3 quarts, so the rest has to go somewhere�..


One last thing:

The latest issue of Rolling Stone Magazine has one of those annoying �Top 100 whatever of all time� lists in it for guitarists.

Now, I am not stupid: I know the purpose of these lists are to start debate, and to get people riled up enough to write and complain that their favorite �whatever� was either dissed or left off of the list all together.

But this list?

Total bullshit, that�s what it is.

I have to say that the top ten contain several I would put on my top ten, too.

But #�s 11-100?

Way too many exceptions, and way too many suck-up�s on the list. And the positioning of some of arguably the best guitarists off all time below one-hit wonders and hacks?

Crazy!

I�ll elaborate on this in the near future. I think I�ll give you my top 10 or so, and then ask you for who you would put on your list, too.

I guess this list accomplished what it was supposed to after all �..


The air conditioning is off tonight for the first time since early June. The overnight low is to reach the high 40�s!

�Bout time, I must say.

I love fall weather. We haven�t had much of it for the past few years, so the earlier it gets here and the longer it stays, the better.

Have a great weekend, all����.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top