Today's music?

Cheap Trick - "presents.... Special One" (2003 - Big 3 records) New stuff from Cheap Trick is always a good thing......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Sept. 08, 2003 - 8:42 p.m.

A follow-up to yesterday�s �lists��..Plus-What an embarrassment!�and something new , canned up and cooling in the kitchen�.

First off, thanks for all the feedback on my critique of the Rolling Stone Top 100 Guitarist of All Time list.

You brought up severalseveral more that I somehow overlooked, but that I agree should make any all-time listing

A couple more came to me last night, after I posted:

Chris Whitley -you never know what you will get when he releases a new album, but it will always be challenging music. His debut album, 1991�s,�Living With the Law�, might be my favorite roots-rock album of all time.

Leo Kottke- Quietly making some of the finest guitar albums for the past 30 years. His finger work rivals that of some of the best hard rocking axe men, even though his music is more relaxing and , well, quiet.

I also have to admit that I just overlooked Neil Schon (of Journey), Tom Scholtz (Boston), Buddy Guy (a legend of Chicago-style Blues) Larry Carlton (another musician who has been around forever, making unique Jazz and doing memorable studio work for, among others, Steely Dan), Yngwie Malmsteen (the European Stevie Vai, with the hard to pronounce name) and Al DiMeola(New Jersey-born master of many guitar styles, starting with fusion Jazz work with Chick Corea in the band Return to Forever, progressing through his more recent, Spanish flamenco-tinged solo work).

Thanks to all who took the time to put their two-cents worth in my guestbook.

And now?

On to the usual boring crap�.


One week into the new NFL football season, and I have nothing to look forward to.

The Bears (or, at least the NFL-Europe team that took the field with their uniforms on their backs yesterday) made sure everyone who watched their game yesterday knew that they were a terrible ball club.

Not that this was totally unexpected, but come on- the worst opening day loss in the 78-year history of their franchise? A new (old- Kordell Stewart) quarterback who looked scared the entire game, throwing 3 interceptions and fumbling the ball another 3 times? In just one game?

I saw absolutely nothing yesterday that makes me think that the team is headed in the right direction.

Unless that direction is to the #1 pick in next spring�s college draft.

The Packers and the Lambs (Rams) both looked bad in losses yesterday, so I guess I have no local team to pull for.

Oh wait- I pull for the Lambs to loose, so yesterday wasn�t a total loss��


As I was backing my Hillbilly truck into a parking space at work today, one of the new guys called me over. Seems he had some green �sugar� pears for me.

I mentioned to him last week about the Right Of Way apples that I make into apple butter and applesauce every fall (if the tree sets fruit, that is). He mentioned then that his parents had a couple of very old pear trees that produce tons of fruit. He said they didn�t even do anything with them, and that the fruit just went to waste every fall.

I think I made the mistake of saying I could do something with them, if he brought some in to me. I was thinking a small batch of pear �honey�, which is basically the same thing as apple butter, only smoother and sweeter. I made some a few years ago with some Asian pears, and my sister loved it (they were here Asian pears).

I wasn�t expecting two paper grocery sacks full, though.

After removing the over-ripe, mushy fruit, plus any badly misshaped fruit (I couldn�t use the apple peeler with them), I had enough cored and peeled fruit to make 12 pints of pearsauce.

Yeah, pearsauce. Like applesauce, only with pears.

After processing, I ended up with 10 canned pints( one jar cracked and ruptured in the first minutes of the water bath), of which 8 are sealed down as I type this. The other two are still button-up, but that could change as the contents cools.

Too much work for a weeknight, but I didn�t want to let them sit until the weekend.

Not enough time for everything on the weekends as it is, anyway��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top