Today's music?

Cheap Trick - "presents.... Special One" (2003 - Big 3 records) New stuff from Cheap Trick is always a good thing......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Sept. 09, 2003 - 4:24 p.m.

Trying to make a decent hot pepper sauce (think Tabasco� brand), one more time�.

As usual, I have way more hot peppers than I can use at this time of year.

I used to freeze them, but they just went to waste. Sure, I would remember to get a few out whenever I made fresh salsa or cooked a pot of chilli in the winter, but that hardly dented the bags I cleaned and stuffed into the deep freezer.

A few years back, I decided I wanted to try to make hot sauce with the surplus that was good enough to share. This isn�t as easy as it sounds- the folks at Franks�� (of the Buffalo wings fame),and McIlhenny � (makers of Tabasco� brand) have about a 100 year head start on me.

I don�t have 55 gallon oak barrels to age my hot peppers and vinegar in, either.

I put together a batch 2 years ago that went over pretty well. Not too hot, but still warm enough to let people know it meant business..

last year, I made industrial grade paint stripper in a bottle. I ended up dumping out about half of it, after it went bad this spring (I don�t can it- I just keep it in the �fridge). If nobody ate it by spring, that means it was just too hot to eat.

And it was.

So, here I sit at the computer, looking for another recipe for hot sauce. I want something that also incorporates onions and garlic for extra flavor. If I can�t find one that does, I will just add it to whatever recipe that catches my eye this time around�.


BTW- the recipe I used to make the pearsauce (made and written about here yesterday), was a huge site from Australia (I belive, considering the name) called Food Down Under.

Just to give you an example of how thorough this site is, it has 1239 canning recipes alone! All have been submitted by individuals, so there could be some ph concerns with some of them. I think I can tell if the recipe is missing acid by reading it, after all these years of canning.

Think, that is.

That�s where I am heading , after posting this short entry.

With 3425 condiment recipes, I bet they have something for pepper sauce that might be good�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top