Today's music?

Verbena - "La Music Negra" (2003- Capitol Records)...Great hard alt-rock (similar to The Toadies)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Sept. 15, 2003 - 8:35 p.m.

I think I am finally finished (check back in a couple of weeks to be sure)�.plus- when does college basketball start this year?

I picked my retired coworker�s red wine grapes after work this afternoon, and made jam and juice with the cooked pulp. The 19 half-pints of sweet spread should bring down the curtain on my canning for this growing season.

Should, I said.

I might still have another flush of tomatoes, and if I have the energy to put back one more batch of hot salsa, I probably will. Don�t really need it, but I won�t let a large amount of tomatoes go to waste, either.

I am now completely out of half-pint jars ( I picked up a dozen new jars with lids at Big Lots Friday night , and scrounged up the rest for this jam from my stock in the garage). The only thing I haven�t made this summer that would use halfs would be hot pepper jam. I don�t think I will make it, though- only a few people I know like it, so my last batch lasted over two years��..


I didn�t even dent the grapes on Bug�s vines tonight. They, like about everything else growing around here this summer, are completely loaded with fruit.

I had enough liquid left after extracting the pulp to make about a gallon of juice. This is now cooling in the fridge. Tomorrow, I will take the clear juice from the top, and dump out any sediment the settles to the bottom of the container. I�ll then freeze most of the juice, after I add just enough sugar to sweeten it up.

Makes a great mixer with vodka, for the cold winter months ahead�..


I also managed to get stung by a bee (on my left index finger) while I was fishing bunches of grapes from under the foliage.

Serves me right for not looking at what I was touching.

The finger was swollen up to about 1 � normal size for about an hour, and it still has a little pain in it now, 5 hours later.

The bee was just telling me to leave his grapes alone, I guess.

Memo to self: next time, look for stinging insects before grabbing grapes��.


Also processed this weekend (and the reason why I didn�t even write here yesterday):

8 quarts of pasta sauce Saturday afternoon. I will hand out about half of this batch, and freeze the rest That is, minus the quart we used yesterday to bake a sirloin steak in the oven. Turned out pretty good, too.

23 pints of applesauce yesterday afternoon. This large amount wouldn�t have been made without the apple peeler/corer device we picked up a couple of years ago. I just mount it to the workbench downstairs , and load one apple after another into it's cutters. It saves me about 2/3�s of the time it would take to peel the apples by hand.

Like I said already- I think I am done.

I enjoy this part of my gardening, but it�s �bout time I finish this up for another summer, don�t you think?


The Bears loose by 11 yesterday in Minneapolis, and the coaches and players actually seem pleased by their play.

I guess this is what you call progress, after loosing the first game 49-7, eh?

I guess if they loose to the Packers by less than a touchdown two weeks from tonight (opening day for the renovated Solider Field), they will be thrilled to death?

Combined with the Illini scoring 3 points against UCLA Saturday night, I am not looking forward to football much anymore.

I just checked, to answer my own question: The Fighting Illini�s first men�s basketball game is November 22nd.

That�s a long time away, and it will only seem longer if my football teams keep stinking up stadiums across the country��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top