Today's music?

Cheap Trick - "presents.... Special One" (2003 - Big 3 records) New stuff from Cheap Trick is always a good thing......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Sept. 20, 2003 - 6:52 p.m.

Looks like I�m the fool again�.I don�t like it! (extra credit points for anyone who gets that song reference ;)

Remember this photo?

I posted it here yesterday. It purports to be of the recent hurricane Isabelle, and really is a striking image.

Guess what?

It is probably a fraud.

Peoples just got too much time on they�s hands�.

This is the second time I have been suckered in the last month. The first tiem was with the �Blackout� satellite photo. I had that one forwarded to me, and couldn�t believe how detailed it was. The outline of where the power was out was nearly perfect (should have been my first clue), and it showed the entire country lit up, without a single area clouded over (that should have clued me in, but it didn�t).

I ended up forwarding that one to many people. I should know by now not to trust my eyes when it comes to anything I see on the Internet.

If you have never stopped by The Urban Legends web site, I highly recommend it. If I had taken the time to check the blackout photograph out first, I would have seen it was a fake. Instead, I spread another urban legend.

The link takes you to the photo fact or fiction page. There, you can see their conclusions after research of widely forwarded shots. They use a simple �traffic light� system to let you know if the photos are real.: Green light for true, Red light for false (which most of them are), and Yellow light for under investigation.

The hurricane shot is presently code yellow. They seem to have their doubts of its authenticity.

I guess I will post a retraction, if they decide it�s a phony�


The fishing was decent this morning, considering the conditions. The wind was light and out of the east, a recipe for poor fishing.

I worked the cove by the beach at Wilber Creek access (at B.A.C.E. lake) for about 2 hours, and caught a couple dozen White bass. I kept 6, and planned on having them for dinner tonight. Lease came home from the mall (and work), and just wanted to go somewhere and have our food cooked for us.

I will toss the filets into the freezer as soon as I finish typing this entry. We have to go out to dinner tomorrow night (afternoon, actually) for her mom�s birthday. Since I won�t be cooking anything else between now and next Saturday (vacation, don�t cha know), they need to be saved for another day�.


Came home and watched my Illini blow another football game.

Actually, I didn�t watch all that much of the game. After gaining 6 yards on offense in the 2nd quarter, and falling behind 21-7 after Cal returned a punt 70-some yards for a touchdown with seconds left in the half I gave up on them.

How bad was this game to watch? I painted my two back doors.

Yes, I painted instead of sitting in the Lazy-Boy�.

They needed the paint (looking pretty scraggly, with Tony and Jay scratches and chipped paint). But it�s not often I choose to do that instead of watching a sporting event that I have looked forward to seeing.

They came back and made it close, loosing by a touchdown. They even had a chance to tie the game, but the quarterback was sacked on the Cal 15 when time ran out.

So, lets see� I have watched all 6 games that the Illini and the Bears have played so far this fall. Together, they are a combined 1-5.

They both suck equally, I guess.

The good news?

I won�t have to watch the Bears loose tomorrow. I won�t even have to watch them loose next Sunday, either.

That�s because they don�t play again until a week from Monday night. That�s the nationally televised slaughter to the Green Bay Packers on MNF. The only reason why they are on is because that is the opening game for the newly remodeled Soldier (there is no �s�) Field.

That game will be something to REALLY look forward to.

The bad news?

I have tickets to the Illini game next Saturday evening against the Wisconsin Badgers.

Oh well- at least the tickets didn�t cost me anything. They were a promo from my local newspaper.

All they will cost me is my sanity, and 3+ hours of my time��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top