Today's music?

Cheap Trick - "presents.... Special One" (2003 - Big 3 records) New stuff from Cheap Trick is always a good thing......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Oct. 01, 2003 - 8:58 p.m.

Leading Diaryland in photos of things in my sink�..

Nobody in our storage was fired today.

That�s good.

We heard today that 15 maintainers in the district north of us were fired in the past week. If this was a �cost cutting� measure�, this would make sense.

One problem, though�..the fine folks from Little Big Man�s management circle also hired 4 new employees for one of the counties in the same field area.

I wonder how long this will go on before SOMEBODY fills the media in on the underhanded political shenanigans�.


The forecasted low for tonight?

28-fuckin�-�.

Way too early for this, even for North Dakota.

I harvested all frost tender veggies at work today (just a bag full of tomatoes, a few more peppers, and three small yellow squash from my late summer planting). All but the squash were left on the sign-in table for my co-workers. Almost all of it was gone by 4pm.

Once home, I harvested a 5-gallon bucket of unripe, green tomatoes (now resting on newspaper in the basement), another 5-gallon bucket of ripe tomatoes (to be made into raw salsa for dinner tomorrow, along with much fresh eating in the next few days), and a large bowl full of unripe cherry tomatoes.

I also had enough ripe sweet peppers to fill one side of my sink, along with way too many hot peppers to possible use (I left at least 75% of the hot Habenero and Big Jim Chili peppers on the plants). I picked a sink full of the Habs, which will probably be strung up on rastas and hung in the kitchen.

I have never had a summer with this kind of surplus of hot peppers. I have given out as many as my friends and family could use, and still have had far more that I could possibly use in my cooking and canning. I don�t know if it was the consistent rains, or if the early start I gave the plants. All I know is I have not been in want of fresh peppers for over 3 months now.

I have never allowed this many peppers die with the first frost.

I have enough poblano peppers to make a batch of Chile Rellenos. If I can find the time to make them, that is.

I had some killer rellenos on vacation. We stopped in Carbondale on our way back home from vacation. After fishing for part of the morning, we stopped long enough o eat at our all-time favorite Mexican restaurant, Tres Hombres.

They make the most killer chili rellenos I have ever eaten. Extra large poblano peppers, stuffed full of Mexican white cheese and seasoning, then deep-fried with an egg white batter. Very authentic, and very tasty, too.

One problem with making this dish- it takes a ton of time. You have to roast the peppers (burn the skin, and then peel the burnt areas off). You have to stuff them, roll them in the batter, and then deep-fry them.

A lot of work. Most Mexican restaurants make a decent version of this dish. None make it as good as Tres Hombres.

Eating them last Friday has made me want to try to make them at home once again.

If I do, I�ll let you know how they turn out�


Oh yeah�the photo?

I shot this one tonight, before I rinsed off the pepper harvest:

No need to jack up the saturation when editing this photo- the colors just pop out at you. The left sink is full of sweet peppers. The right? Way too many habeneros for any human to consume in a lifetime.

I swear- I left enough Habs on the plants to wipe out an entire Mexican village.

Seems like a waste of good peppers. Since you only need about a fingernail clipping -sized sliver of one of these peppers to burn a small house down (right, Zackal?), I don�t feel bad about letting nature take its course on the remainder of my crop��.


For those not keeping track- the photo above is the third shot of something in my kitchen sink.

Now the new record here in D-land���.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top