Today's music?

nothing...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Oct. 03, 2003 - 5:53 p.m.

A couple of the worst hours I have went through in a long time�

Today wasn�t that bad. Up until about 3 pm, that is.

The yearly nut and bolt/hardware order came in yesterday. It was packaged in 77 boxes, all mixed. The shipping list was 7 pages long, with about 25 items per page. The hardware was mixed up, sometimes even having one bag of, say �� by 2� bolts in each of 4 or 5 different boxes.

No, this isn�t what caused my day to go to Hell. That came later.

I made it through about � of the boxes today. That is making pretty good time, considering the methods of packing the shipper used.

But the karma smack upside my head was just about to happen.

At 3pm, Mikey (this month�s temporary lead worker) asked me to please come into the office with him. Once inside, he shut the door. Beavis was already there; sitting at one of the desks with one of his, �I have some really bad news, so I am close to breaking out in laughter� looks on his face.

Since I haven�t done anything that would warrant me being in disciplinary trouble (extra long trips to the bathroom not included), I knew it had to be some other form of bad news.

It was.

Starting Monday, This guy, who was properly fired with just cause, will be back at the storage. I didn�t say �working�, because what he did in the past cannot be interpreted as �work�.

Why?

Because I work for the Government (NDDOT, to be exact). And if there is one thing the government can do, it�s fuck things up royally.

He is coming back because of the recent firings., then rehiring of the innocent, hard working people late last week. Since this guy was actually fired, oh say over three weeks ago, naturally the paper pushers in London added his name to the �rehire� list.

Unbelievable!

And that�s not the best part.

Oh no- since he is such a hazard on the road, and since they don�t want this Bozo driving any equipment (read the old entry, if you want to see why), he will be left in the yard EVERY FUCKIN� DAY OF THE WEEK!

They want him pushing a broom, painting a wall, slopping out a urinal- anything that doesn�t involve heavy machinery.

So, if I understand this- they don�t want him back, but don�t have the courage to follow through with his proper firing. He will make the same amount of money as everyone else, but won�t have to plow snow, dodge runaway semis, or do anything outside that might tax his overburdened heart.

And I have to spend every day that it DOESN�T snow, taking all my breaks and lunch periods with this unpleasant individual.

What have I ever done to deserve this, I ask you?

Might be time to go back on the road myself. He told everyone that he is the most talented and qualified person at the storage. Give him the toolroom, and let him �fix what I have done� in there for the past 4 years.

No, I wouldn�t do that to my fellow workers.

The fleet would be down in a matter of time, due to lack of spare parts��.


Wait, it gets better!

On my way home tonight, I needed to stop by the eye doctor to pick up Lease�s repaired glasses. Somehow, one of her lenses fell out on vacation while we were eating a meal at a restaurant. After looking on our hands and knees, using the manager�s flashlight for about 30 minutes, I convinced her that it wasn�t worth worrying about. She has two pairs of glasses anyway (these were her sunglasses), so she wouldn�t have to walk around blind for the remainder of the vacation.

They called yesterday, telling her that they had them back and ready to be picked up.

That�s what I was doing. I drove across town in a light rain, in stop and go , rush hour traffic. Until I did something I hadn�t done since I was a teenager.

I didn�t give myself room enough to stop.

I clipped the back bumper of the car in front of me. Who had just smacked into the rear bumper of the car in front of her.

I wasn�t traveling very fast, so I was able to let off of the brake enough to steer the truck into the middle of the road. I might have been moving 3 mph when I made contact (my right front bumpers edge to her left rear fender). The impact did no damage to the Hillbilly truck.

Not that you could see if it did anyway. You have seen the photos before- it would take a meteoroid hitting it in the hood to show damage.

Her car had already been hit in the rear before, and my impact only left aa 1� deep, 4�x4� dent in the curve of her fender. The car in front of her was also an old beater (as was her�s), so the driver of that car didn�t want to involve the 5-0. She called her mom (she is 18 years old), and had her come to the parking lot we ended up in to check out the damage.

When she arrived, she didn�t want to call the police either. The ticket she would have gotten for hitting the car in front of her would have cost her more than the damage I did to her car. So we all agreed to let it slide.

Funny thing, though- before we left, her mom said, �I know you, don�t I?�

After giving her a closer look, it came to me- her daughter had played softball at the same park that Codeman played his baseball when they were younger. I served on the park board for 6 years, and had been the commissioner of her league a couple fo times to boot. She said she had been voted onto the board the year I left it, too.

Small world, I guess.

Like I said- no police, no real damage (except to my driving pride), and nothing but a new bit of �character� to the Hillbilly truck.

Could have been worse. A lot worse�..


Oh yeah- one last bit of grief: since the accident slowed my drive home, I didn�t make it here until almost 5 pm.

That is just too long for jay the puppy to hold it.

When I made it to the bedroom, I could tell before I entered the room that he didn�t.

I had to carry him all the way down the stairs and outside, disinfect his cage and the area around it, and then give him a bath. Both #1 and #2, all over him and his cage.

I have also taken a shower.

And I am confident the REST OF THE WEEKEND WILL BE MUCH BETTER THAT THE PAST 2 HOURS!

Later��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top