Today's music?

Chance the Gardener - "The Day the Dogs Took Over" (1996- Warner Brothers Records) Pretty cool roots-rock (think Wilco)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Oct. 10, 2003 - 10:09 p.m.

You would think I would finally figure this out someday (professional sports doesn�t mean a thing, except for this �.)

Blew my last 4 hours of personal business today.

Spent it on B.A.C.E. lake.

When I arrived, there was a slight breeze out of the east. Not good for fishing, but I was there so I did what I could.

In the first 45 minutes, I fished the flats next to the swimming beach at Wilber creek. And I caught a bunch of fish.

Around 25 or so White bass, to be specific. Add to that several small crappie (2 keepers), a largemouth bass (not a keeper), and the largest Walleye I have landed in about 10 years, and the trip was a success.

The walleye?

He hit after the wind died down to nothing. And when I say nothing, I mean dead calm (no, not the lame mystery movie from the early 90�s). I took the tape measure out of my fishing pouch and measured him.

He was right at 15� long.

Since I thought the legal limit was 14�, I tossed him into my 5-gallon bucket, long with the 6 nice White bass I had already had swimming inside.

I went back to fishing, making futile cast after futile cast onto the flat where the Whites had been striking just moments before.

Then, for some reason, a though crossed my mind: was the legal limit for Walleye 14�? Or was it 16�?

14�?

16�?

Fuuuucccckkkkk!

I had my best tackle with me today. That included my new rod and reel, purchased on vacation, along with my tackle pouch. Inside of my tackle pouch was about 30 hours worth of jig and fly tying (lures I made by hand, in other words), along with most of my spinners, hooks, corks, and other related merchandise.

Why does this matter?

Because if a DNR ranger walked up to me and measured my (supposedly) undersized Walleye, he could not only slap me with a vicious fine ($100, I think), he could also confiscate all of my tackle.

That would make my (supposedly) 1� undersized Walleye one very expansive fish.

SO you know what I did, don�t you?

I put him back in the lake.

He might have been in my bucket for all of 10 minutes. He was also already in shock. It took me about 5 minutes of massaging his gills (stop snickering- if you have ever caught a large fish you know what I mean) by forcing fresh water into them. He acted like he wasn�t going to snap out of it, but he finally swam away after that work.

I went back to fishing (no more keepers), and then called it a day.

If your Chicago Cubs wool New Era hat is sticking to your forehead in October, you know it is warmer than normal.

I cleaned the fish I did keep (tomorrow night�s dinner, btw), and then headed to the boat ramps to see what the actual legal limit, length-wise, that walleye have on B.A.C.E. Lake.

Do I even have to tell you now?

14�

I should have known that tonight�s baseball game would be a wreck after that, but did I?

NO!

Instead, I sat down to watch it.

Chinese Water Torture.

That is what this ballgame has been.

Cubs scored 2 in the first two innings.

And their bats have gone to sleep ever since.

It took the Marlins 7 innings, but they are now ahead 3-2.

Looks like �wait �til next year� is back in form for the Cubs.

Oh well- 2 innings to go- maybe someone can bail Kerry Woods out- he deserves better than a loss for his effort��.


Fr those who could give a rat�s ass about baseball, just remember this one fact: my father turned 74 in August. He is a 5-year cancer survivor. And he lives and dies Chicago Cubs baseball. He watches almost every game (all day games), and has seen them go over 57 years without a World Series appearance.

All I want is for them to make it there. The smile that would be on his face would light up all of Mohall for the rest of the fall, and take us into the winter season too��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top