Today's music?

The Urge - "Too Much Stereo" (2000 - Immortal Records) Cool ska-metal band from St. Louis that should be more well known than



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Oct. 13, 2003 - 5:31 p.m.

No goats, ghosts , or any other curses involved- just great pitching�.

I am proud to announce that if you type happens garbage "picked up on" curb into the MSN search engine, my �journal� comes up #5!

The sad thing is, it sounds like something I would type, garbled English and all�.


Very busy and productive day here at Casa Roadiepig.

Off today (due to Christopher Columbus finding this country by mistake back in 1492), but I got out of bed at the time I usually do anyway. Codeman was off from college today, to, but had to be at work by 12 noon. He wanted to go fishing with me this morning anyway.

Since he has only gone with me a couple of times all year, I was happy to get up early and make sure everything was ready. We were loaded up and out of here by 7:15.

We didn�t catch much for the first hour and a half (B.A.C.E. Lake), mainly because the lake was in the same conditions that I left it last Friday.

Dead calm.

The forecast was for winds from the south at 5-15 mph. Dead calm made no sense with that forecast.

We worked all of the shoreline area on both sides of the boat ramps, but nothing was working.

Then the wind started moving. Very light, but better than staying dead calm.

It wasn�t 10 minutes before we started seeing White bass working the surface further out than we could cast. We switched our rigs to heavier jigs, and started catching fish right away.

We only were able to work these feeding Whites for about 45 minutes due to Codeman having to get back and change for work. Even so, we ended up landing about 25 fish (all released).

Not great, but not that bad either�...


On the way back to Mohall, I stopped at the horse farm where I get my yearly fall supply of composted horseshit.

The owner had called Whitey (my retired co-worker) a couple of weeks ago, asking him to come out as soon as possible to get whatever he wanted, and to let me know about it, too. Seems he had another farmer who wanted to haul the whole pile away, but he told him to wait until we got what we needed.

Very nice gesture, I must say.

I wasn�t able to get to his farm until today, so I figured I might be too late. Luckily for me, the other farmer hadn�t stopped by yet.

I hauled two VERY HEAVY loads of completely composted horseshit/sawdust chips home this afternoon. That was enough to spread a layer about 4� deep over my main garden beds. I could use a little more for the small beds, but might not be able to get back before it gets hauled away.

This was the heaviest horseshit I have ever worked with, btw- since it was completely composted, it was more like heavy black soil. It took all I could manage to shovel it into the wheelbarrow and spread it around the garden. I then raked it evenly, and ran the tiller over each bed. I didn�t do a deep till, but I wanted to turn the horseshit under to remove any neighbor�s complaints before they happened.


BTW- I use the term horseshit with total respect for my equine friends.

I also believe in calling something what it is, and horseshit sounds so much more descriptive than horse manure.

That, and I can be a little sophomoric sometimes�.


About the title to this entry:

The Chicago Cubs won the game Saturday night, putting them up 3-1 in the best of 7 series with the Marlins. One more win, and they make the World Series for the first time since World War II.

Then, they up and loose yesterday�s final game at Miami. Lost to another great young pitcher (Josh Beckett), who pitched a complete game 2 hit shutout.

If you listen to sportstalk radio this morning, you would think that the Cubs were eliminated from the playoffs! People were calling in, saying things like, �It�s the curse of The Billy Goat Tavern�s goat!� and, �They have to loose! Fate is against them, like always!�, and my favorite,� It�s just like it was in1984, all over again!� (The Cubs were up 2-0 in a best of 5 League Championship series, but lost the last three games that year).

No it�s not just like it was in1984- that year, they had to play the last three games in San Diego because they DIDN�T HAVE LIGHTS IN WRIGLEY FIELD! They had to pitch their ace on 3 days rest, and still almost pulled out the last game.

This time around, they are up 3-2 in a best of 7, but have the last two games at home with their two aces lined up to pitch on normal rest. The Marlins are starting a pitcher in game 6 that they had moved to the bullpen after the playoffs started.

Am I predicting a win tomorrow?

No. Anything can happen on the ball diamond. That�s why they play the game. The Marlins could win both games in Chicago. Remember- the Cubs had just won 3 straight from the Marlins, 2 of them in Miami.

But with Mark Prior pitching tomorrow?

Confident is the word that comes to mind.

Anyway- I have been a Cubs fan my whole life, so I don�t make predictions about winning anything��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top