Today's music?

The hum of my computer's hard drive...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Oct. 16, 2003 - 8:52 a.m.

No gory post-mortem here- justa long entry to put you to sleep�plus- more photos from Memphis

I won�t waste much time today dwelling on what could have been for the Cubs yesterday.

They lost 3 games in a row. This, after winning 3 games in a row.

Yes, the fan beating Alou to the foul ball changed the momentum of the game on Tuesday. But one play alone doesn�t cost you a series. All the little things each players does in the course of a game add up to either a win or a loss.

In their case, it was bad pitching in game 7 that did them in.

Here are my final words on the Chicago Cubs season:

They finished in last place one year ago, and I don�t think I sat through more than a few innings of a handful of games all season.

This year, they took their fans on a ride that ended 95 years of playoff loosing (when the beat the Braves in the first round of the playoffs a week ago). They were as entertaining a team to watch as any I can remember the Cubs assembling in my lifetime, and I actually watched several regular season games for the entire 9 innings.

The playoffs ended on a sour note, but provided my Cub fan friends and family with much enjoyment. My Dad called me almost every day (if I didn�t call him first), wanting to dissect what happened in the game the day before. They won 6 games, and they lost 6 games. All of the wins were enjoyable to watch, and all of the wins were painful to endure.

But they provided me with a lot of enjoyment this year.

Especially with the way that the Bears and Illini have been struggling on the gridiron this fall (congrats to Northern, ranked in the top 12 of the NCAA polls right now, and Southern and Western, who are both ranked in the 1AA poll as I type this, and play each other on Saturday. At least SOMEBODY can play good football in Illinois, eh?)

Which all leads me to this one question: when does college basketball start up again?


By the way- you might have heard the Chicago Cubs described as �The Loveable Losers�.

Let me tell you what I think of that saying: I hate it!

There is nothing �loveable� about losing regularly at your specific sport.

You just lose.

The press likes to hang that tag on the Cubs, trying to explain why their fans stay so loyal after suffering through so many bad seasons.

Wrigley Field has something to do with the saying. It is almost always filled to capacity, even in bad seasons.

But it�s not because the fans love to watch them loose. It�s because the ballpark is such a beautiful place to spend an afternoon. Going to a game there really is like spending time in a park. It doesn�t have all the bells and whistles all of the new parks have (it was built in the 1920�s, I think), but there isn�t a prettier place to watch a ballgame (IMHO). And I have been in more baseball parks then you would imagine (the ugliest park I ever saw a game in? The old Riverfront Park in Cincinnati. What a rundown dump, before they replaced it this season).

The fans stay loyal, even though for many years the owners put together the cheapest team they could to maximize their profits.

The present ownership has made a commitment to build a winning ball team. They have one of the highest payrolls in baseball, and made several moves during this season to make them competitive (hopefully) for years to come.

Their fans deserve no less��


I didn�t watch much of the game last night. I turn the TV off in the first inning after Kerry Woods spotted the Marlins a 3 runs lead.

I spent most of the rest of the game sitting at the computer, editing more of the photos from our Memphis vacation (which are now in the online album, if you wanna kill some time viewing them- and don�t laugh at the photo of Elvis and me, please?).

I had ESPN�s Gametrack running in one window, and clicked on it every so often. Once Codeman came home, I could tell how they were doing by the amount of noise coming from his room. They didn�t do much once he arrived, so I didn�t bother watching.

I did tape the game. Maybe someday I will want to look back and see where it all went wrong. I might want to see the post game celebration by the Marlins.

No I won�t��


Since I have gone on long enough about the game, I will leave you with a few photos from last night�s work:

This is a shot of the sun reflecting off of the surface of the Pyramid. This Pyramid in not located in Egypt. The Memphis Grizzlies and Memphis University play their basketball games there (or at least until the new building downtown is completed next year).

Photos of the Interstate bridges crossing the Mississippi river from Arkansas to Tennessee

If you have been here long, you know I like to take photos of ordinary things, looking for things like texture, shape, and contrasts.

That, and I just like to point my camera at things and push the shutter down�.


Long entry�I know.

We will be in Carbondale before the evening is through. The place where Lease and I went on our honeymoon, 23+ years ago.

Codeman will be here, guarding the ranch (along with the critters).

Later�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top