Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Oct. 19, 2003 - 9:43 p.m.

Happy B-Day to Zackal�.oh yeah- and we are home, too, with tons of photos and fish stories�

Zackal turned 42 on Friday.

I didn�t get a card made for him before we left on vacation, so I will make it up (yeah-right) by mentioning his new age here.

One of my best trips to Car-bong-dale (not involving Lease) involved Zackal, his dieing Chevy Citation, and a massive bed of spawning Longear Sunfish.

Trust me- it is worthy of a boring day�s entry down the road.

Remind me, the next time I post one of my usual, �I don�t have anything worth wasting your time with today.� entries�


Great long weekend.

Lease and I saw areas of Southern Illinois we have overlooked before. We have been down there at least 12 times since we were dating, and somehow missed Bald Knob, Makanda, and the Little Grand Canyon.

I shot almost 150 photos this weekend. I didn�t even use the camera today, and hardly took it out of it�s case on Thursday, too.

We spent time with hippie-wanna-be�s on Saturday. We watched at least 50 Turkey Buzzards fly over our heads at the same time (surely wondering why all the unbathed folks were celebrating their return, too).

I caught 61 bluegills in 1 � hours this morning. Caught 31 White bass ONLY after abandoning the bluegill yesterday afternoon (after catching an uncounted amount of �gill�s before I changed my rigging).

And that wasn�t my best catch all weekend.

This was:

O.K., that wasn�t my best catch. But this small Rock Bass wasn�t the least bit happy that I had landed him, and spent the time it took me to remove him from the line open-mouthed, letting me know he was unhappy with his predicament.

This was my actual best catch:

I landed this catfish on Friday morning. The conditions were brutal: light rain, winds out of the northeast, fog, blah blah blah.

I was actually landing some nice bluegill while wading in about 2 foot of water. The spot was at the corner of Rt.13 Bridge, northeast side. I was tossing a pair of 1� long 1/32nd of an ounce tinsel jig. For some reason, this 26� long, 9 lb. (according to my cheap-o scale) channel catfish decided it was breakfast.

Ten minutes later, I grabbed this fighting fish by his mouth and pulled him from the water.

Yes, I released him (along with all of the fish we landed this weekend). Only after trying to shoot decent photos of him by myself (Leas e was getting ready to hit the malls in the hotel room).

I shot about 6 shots with the tape measure draped on his frame, but none of them are in focus.

Figures.

I will say this- it is the largest catfish I have caught in my 42 years. Period.

And I caught him on a bluegill rig , on my ultra light rod and reel.

Cool, eh?


Last photo:

Lease and I, on top of the Giant Rock State Park water tower.

I managed to get a 10-year-old boy to shot this photo, after I wasted 10 files or so trying to get a decent photo holding the camera in my hand, extended at arm's length from the two of us.

The 10 year old did ok, eh?


If I can spend a little more time editing the huge amount of photos I took this weekend, I will write more here tomorrow.

Time. I wish I had more of that.

Maybe I need to start buying Big-lotto tickets again�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top