Today's music?

Kings of Leon - "Youth and Young Manhood" (2003- RCA records)...retro-southern rock by three brothers and their cousin...cool



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2003 - 7:40 p.m.

Using up the last of them�.plus- nothing like going back to work after a vacation to ruin a perfectly good day�

Lease had me dig through the deep freeze on Monday, looking to see what the various lumps of frosty meat were filling the spaces between bags of peaches and zucchini. I dug deep enough to find a package of boneless chicken thighs from late May, and the last of the pork roasts that I carved up out of a whole loin purchased back in March.

Yeah- March.

It was in surprisingly good shape. I had sealed it inside of a Ziploc� freezer bag, and burped most of the air out of the bag before freezing it. I brought both of these old cuts of meat upstairs to defrost. Tonight I went with the oldest cut first.

I cut the roast into thin slices, and made a stir-fry with the very last of our onions from this year�s garden.

The very last.

I chopped up a couple of the green peppers that I harvested before the frost a few weeks ago. They are starting to fade a little, and the remaining fruit will have to be chopped and frozen or tossed into the compost pile in the next few days.

I also used two of my Mr. Stripey tomatoes that were also harvested the day before the frost. This is one of my favorite old-timers (I know I mentioned them here before) because they are both very colorful, and VERY flavorful. This is also one of the slowest-to-produce-fruit tomatoes on the Earth.

How slow?

I didn�t get one ripe Mr. Stripey BEFORE the day of the frost. That means they were in the ground for about 140 days, and they still weren�t ready to pick.

Too cool this summer, I guess. But we have eaten about 6 of these large tomatoes in the past week, well after my main crop tomato plants had faded away.

So they were worth the wait��


Went back to work today. Had to- not old enough to retire just yet, after all.

We have two of our four full-time temps already working for us. They started last Friday. One was a FTT last winter, the other was only a Snowbird for the past 2 winters.

The other 2 guys start in the next few days. Again, one was a FTT last year, the other was only a snowbird.

What is missing in this equation is Mr. Snow and Cricket. These two have been FTT for 4 or 5 years, and have done an excellent job over that period. Mr. Snow has also been a snowbird ever since the first year I worked for the state. That would be 1983, kids.

Why aren�t they back?

All they have been given by the new r�gime is that they weren�t needed as FTT anymore, and that the two new guys scored better than they did on testing.

Which they didn�t take. Any of them. No testing.

Oh yeah- the two new FTTs? Both big in the political party of the new r�gime. The two old-timers dropped? One somewhat politically active in the wrong party, the other neutral. So I guess the party of the workin� man here in North Dakota is showing it�s true colors. Give us a little scratch, hand out our fliers at election time, and we will give you a job when we are in power.

This sort of abuse of public trust had been eliminated due to a major lawsuit a few years back. A lawsuit pushed through by Little Big Man�s party,btw. Maybe because they had been out of power so long, they wanted a few of the government jobs?

Anyway, all that crap ended after the lawsuit. Only the most qualified person was hired, regardless of their political affiliation. The last 10 or so guys hired to our storage were all non-political , for the most part.

When Little Big Man took office, he gave a speech saying that, �The politics as usual will no longer stand here in North Dakota!�

I guess he meant things would go back to the bad old days, with clout buying you a job.

Just another example of what�s wrong with our new leader and his cronies�..


Jay-dog is bugging me to take him outside (not to mention Tony Bonehead, growling at the gate, too).

Better do this, before I need to clean up a mess��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top