Today's music?

Kings of Leon - "Youth and Young Manhood" (2003- RCA records)...retro-southern rock by three brothers and their cousin...this



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Oct. 24, 2003 - 6:05 p.m.

Off to one crazy train (cue Randy Rhoades intro)

Lease should be pulling into the driveway any moment now, and we will be off to ride a haunted train. The local railroad museum east of town has been putting on this event for a long time, but we have never taken the ride before tonight. From what I hear, it is either very frightening, or very lame. Since I don�t scare easily, and I tend to not judge things on their lameness, I will be going with an open mind��


I harvested a large amount of bok choy at work this morning. I always grow too much of this member of the cabbage family, and this fall�s crop is larger than normal. I talked one of the new guys into taking a bag home (he said he likes everything else in the Cole family, but had never tried bok choy before).

I know that much of world�s choy crop is converted into Kim chi, but I have never acquired a taste for this pungent, rotten-fish smelling side dish so popular in Korea. I just stir fry my harvest, simply with just oil, garlic, salt and pepper, and maybe a little soy or bottled Chinese sauce.

As much as I have still in the ground, maybe I should surf the web a little, looking for a pickled choy recipe that at least sounds tasty. If it turns out, that will give me one more use for the surplus�


What I still have growing in my gardens:

1. Bok Choy (like I already said)

2. Lettuce (3 varieties at various stages of growth)

3. Radishes (2 varieties)

4. Brussels Sprouts (in need of a frost or two to sweeten them up)

5. Chinese cabbage (the head-producing type)

6. 2 lonely broccoli plants, still a few days away from forming heads

7. A small patch of snow peas, also in need of a delayed hard freeze to produce a crop (in full bloom today, so the pods will be ready in about 7 days).

8. 2nd crop volunteer cilantro and dill plants (way too many for use at this time)

9. One solitary cabbage plant (vr.-Ballhead), which will not form a head. Too small, and too late in the year to grow much more.

10. Weeds. Mostly grasses, but a few tiny white aster flowers mixed in for spice.

The home garden is completely tilled for the winter. Garlic bulbs are still to be planted in both beds, but with the cold, wet weather expected to arrive overnight, that will have to be put off for a dryer day�.


Hope y�all have a great weekend. Fall back, and enjoy the extra hour of sleep Saturday night.

For those who might have to work that extra hour without compensation, I feel for you. But remember-you should have been paid for the hour you skipped when daylight savings time went into effect in spring.

(The last paragraph was written for all the undocumented aliens, scrubbing the floors at our local Wallyworld ;)

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top