Today's music?

SouthFm- "Drama Kids" (2003- MCA America Records)...great alt-rock from a band from Texas



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Oct. 26, 2003 - 7:19 p.m.

A busy Sunday, but a productive one�plus- one last bloom from summer....

Lease and I slept in the extra hour this morning, but we were still up and going at 8:30 am. She had already made a batch of her sausage gravy yesterday afternoon, so all she had to do to get breakfast ready was reheat it, bake the biscuits, and cook a few scrambled eggs. She even left me in bed , snoozing, while she did this.

See why I love her so?

After eating breakfast in bed (and watching last Thursdays �Friends� and �Scrubs�), we spent most of the rest of the day cooking.

Something.

Like what, you might ask?

1. This fall�s batch of Chinese plum dipping sauce (6 half-pints, canned).(Me)

2. A whole chicken, cut into quarters, seasoned with fajita spices and baked for 35 minutes. This will be made into taco meat sometime next week.(Me)

3. A pound of hamburger (ground chuck) and a pound of Italian pork sausage. This will make a lasagna next week, plus should be enough left for spaghetti later in the month (after freezing the leftover)(Lease)

4. A crockpot full of chili. (Lease)

5.A cookie sheet full of chicken wing drum-etts, made into Buffalo wings for out lunch/appetizer. (Me)

6. A pot of fish chowder, made with white bass from one of my fall fishing trips.

7. A chocolate sheet cake (Lease, �natch)

Sounds like a lot of cooking, but it was all accomplished around other activities (Bears finally finding a team worse than them to win a game-sorry Lions fans, watching last week�s �Carnivale� from HBO, and printing a few photographs from Lease�s workplace, Lease doing some housecleaning, and me doing minor maintenance around the house)

The wings were consumed around the third quarter of the Bears game (2 pm), and the chili was Lease and Codeman�s dinner, the fish chowder mine (I don�t do chili with beans, and the leftover fish chowder is my lunch for tomorrow).

I didn�t get anything done with the bucket full of beets I harvested on Friday.

No fear, though- I spent a little time surfing the recipe sites I have used in the past and I came up with several unusual uses for the root crop.

The one that has me most intrigued is Beet Nut Bread.

Yeah, that�s right- a desert bread made out of shredded beets.

Hey, I never would have thought zucchini would make a good desert until Lease made her first batch of sweet bread using shredded squash. Now it is one of her most requested deserts.

No reason why beets (which are sweet to begin with) can�t be made into something people ask the recipe for too, right?

If not, it is worth the journey to take the chance�..

Low temperature tonight is supposed to be around 28�.

Not good for the few remaining plants that survived the frost 3+ weeks ago.

The marigolds along the sidewalk. The hanging baskets containing nasturtiums and gazinias. The tri-fetti pepper plant that survived by being placed against the foundation that night. All still alive, and flourishing too.

They have been defiantly growing against all odds ever since the killer swept through here early in October.

But all (except the pepper, which I put in the basement tonight) should succumb to nature in the next few hours.

All day, I planned to take photos of the marigolds, blooming away even though leaves have nearly covered their foliage. And all day, I was just too damn busy to take the camera outside and shoot a few frames.

I finally got around to it after dark. I used the tripod, and used light from a flashlight to illuminate the blooms.

This is how it turned out:

For one last day, summer held sway over fall.

Winter is soon to arrive.

I hate winter���.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top