Today's music?

Nothing...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Oct. 27, 2003 - 7:02 p.m.

A typical, uneventful Monday�at least until I was less than a block from home, that is (a very long entry, but brevity in words will not explain what I went through today)�.

The �extra� hour of sleep didn�t seem like �extra� this morning. Might be because Jay-Dog decided that he needed to go outside twice overnight. Or because he moved in such a way that neither Lease nor I could move at around 3 am. And when I attempted to move him back down the bed, he growled at me in a tone I have never heard before.

Yes, he was deep in sleep. That is, until I popped his rear end (not abusively- just hard enough to let him know that his behavior was unacceptable) for growling at me. He woke up, and immediately jumped off of the bed and into his cage/crate.

Which is where he spent the rest of the night, btw�.


Spent most of the day at work ordering items we need to get the trucks ready for winter.

Notice I didn�t say �ready for winter inspection�. I gave up worrying about the headquarters� annual fall checking of our trucks. They always nitpick over things that don�t amount to nothing (�Missing i.d. label on an auger box? FIVE POINTS OFF OF YOUR SCORE! HA! HA! HA!�- what dweebs!)

No, today I was ordering things like rear snow tires for the lead workers crew cab, and windshield de-icer for the plow operators.

I have to clean a little more now with all of the guys hanging around the yard, so the day flew by.

I left work at the normal time, and headed home.

I wanted to try to gather one last pickup load of bagged leaves for my home garden. I unloaded my 4th load at work this morning , and figured I would have no trouble filling the truck one more time.

But every road I turned on around my neighborhood was free of bagged leaves. Must have been the crummy weather all weekend- nobody wanted to rake leaves when it rains most of the day (Saturday), or if the wind blows hard (Sunday).

Plenty of leaves still on the ground, so I shouldn�t have any trouble getting another load before winter.

Anyway�.

Because I drove around a little before giving up, I didn�t get home at my usual time. I might have been only 5 minutes later than normal, but if you believe in fate, or luck, or whatever- today those 5 minutes was really important.


As I was driving up the side street one block from my home, I noticed a commotion on the sidewalk. I could tell there were two young women on the sidewalk, and what looked like 3 rather large dogs. The women appeared to be struggling with the dogs.

I pulled the Hillbilly truck up to the curb, and got out as quickly as possible. Two of the dogs were locked in what looked to be a battle to the death!

No ,I am not exaggerating.

I slammed my truck into the curb, and got out as quickly as possible. That�s when I was able to pick up what was going on- the two dogs fighting were a black Spitz mix and a rather large American Bulldog (kinda like a huge Pit Bull, with a larger body and a smaller head) Both were not neutered, and the Spitz had his mouth around the neck of the Bulldog, which appeared to not want to be in this battle.

I asked the women if they wanted my help, and they said something to the affirmative. The third dog was a large female Great Dane, who was also foaming at the mouth and running in and out of the melee. I asked the woman walking the dogs what the Great Dane�s name was, and she told me �Annie�. I tried to get her to come towards me, hoping the woman would be able to control her Bulldog if not trying to control two dogs at the same time (They had stopped biting each other at this point, but were still straining on their leads to reach each other). �Annie� wouldn�t come totally towards me, which I expected. I just wanted her to leave the other dogs alone, which she was doing until�.

The Spitz slipped its neck free of its collar, and lunged towards the Bulldog.

This is when all Hell broke loose.

The two large males became interlocked on each other�s necks. The Bulldog ripped several tuffs of black fur loose from the Spitz, angering that dog even more. I wasn�t about to stick my body in between them, but I did remember one thing that I heard works in these situations.

I yelled at the homeowner �Do you have a shovel or rake? Something with a wooden handle?� She replied, �I don�t know!� as she tried to break them apart by hitting her dog with a large piece of cardboard (?!?).

I ran towards the alley (It runs to my back yard, about 6 house down.) If she didn�t have anything outside, I was prepared to sprint to my back yard where a long handled shovel was resting in my compost pile.

And then I noticed it- a canoe paddle was propped up against their garage.

I picked it up and ran back to the fight. I tried shoving it between the dog�s mouths, but that had no effect on it. The dogs were now both bleeding from their heads and mouths, and I didn�t think the Spitz had much time left before the bulldog decided to snap its neck.

So I did the only thing I could think of at the time- I started hitting the Spitz with the blade of the paddle. Not hard, but hard enough to get its attention and cause it to let go. The Bulldog was still biting it, though, so I hit the Bulldog once on the top of his head. This dazed him enough to release his grip. The Spitz then ran towards his home, only to try to circle back behind a parked car and towards the Bulldog once again. I then started hitting the asphalt loudly, yelling at him to go home. It took me several lunges with the blade to get him to final run into his yard (which was at the top of a slight hill. This is why he saw the Bulldog walking past, and why he leaped a short chain link fence to start this mess).

The owner of the Spitz asked the other woman if she was ok, and asked if she thought her dogs were alright, too. She then went into her house, closing the door after her dog cleared the threshold.

She didn�t say a word to me. This kinda pissed me off, because if I hadn�t drove by 5 minutes later then normal, her dog would probably have died in just a few more moments.

The other woman was shaking like a leaf, but said she wasn�t injured, just drained from pulling against her dog. She said she lived a block away, and had walked by that fence a hundred times without any problem in the past. She then left to take her dogs home. She said she had just given both of them baths, and now the Bulldog needed one again.

�That, and maybe a few stitches�, was what I thinking as I left.

I drove home, let my dogs outside to go to the bathroom, started the clothes dryer, and made our lunches for tomorrow. After I settled down enough to stop shaking myself (15 minutes or so and one beer later), I headed back to the Spitz owners house.

Nobody was home. The car was gone from the driveway. I figured she was heading to her dogs� vet to make sure he was not badly injured (did I hit it too hard with the paddle? That was my first thought).

As I walked back to my home, I passed the spot where most of the battle took place. There, on the sidewalk, were several spots of dried blood.

There were also three small tuffs of long black fur, with some flesh still attached.

I think I should stop by tomorrow to see if the Spitz is doing well.

I might not, though- the way people are nowadays, she might want to sue me for breaking the fight up for her (even thought both women said they wanted my help)��


A quick follow up�.

I wrote most of the above around 5- 5:30 pm.

I then went down to cook supper. But I thought I should call Codeman to tell him what happened, and to warn him if either dog was a patient of the vet he works for (no, this vet isn�t the only one in town- there are at least 5 others).

Turns out the Spitz was on its way to the clinic. The owner called, said her dog (Which is a mixed breed, according to her) had been attacked by someone else�s giant Bulldog, and that it was bleeding heavily from several cuts on its head and chest. She was afraid it would bleed to death if the vet didn�t stop the bleeding.

And this is where I am right now- waiting for him to call back and tell me what happens next.

This is too fuckin� much excitement for me on a Monday����.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top