Today's music?

Dressy Bessy - "self-titled" (2003- Kindercore Records)....catchy power pop....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Oct. 30, 2003 - 8:56 p.m.

Northern Lights? Crap! It would be cloudy tonight, wouldn't it?

Yeah, I fell for the big buildup. The folks at NASA convinced me that this was a once in a long time event, and that the AURORAS (AKA �Northern Lights� would be easily visible as far south as Texas.

Since we live in freakin� North Dakota, that means we should be really getting a show about now.

Except for�..

High-altitude clouds.

You can see stars. You can see the moon.

But unless the haze of washed-out red we saw tonight is �it�, the clouds are messing things up here again.

It happened the last two hyped astrological events. One was a meteor shower that lasted for several days (rain a couple of the days, heavy clouds the rest) and the other a �once in a lifetime� comet a few years back (the prime days were all overcast).

We even drove out into the boonies to get a mercury vapor light-free view. This made the stars much brighter where they shown through gaps in the clouds.

Lease even saw a �falling star�. It happened right after we parked and got out of the Grand Am. I was in the trunk, setting up the digital to shoot a few shots. By the tiem I looked up, it was gone.

At least she saw it�


Note to self:

If you want decent photos of ANYTHING after dark, leave the digital at home and load a roll of 400 speed into the old Rebel.

There just isn�t any long-tiem exposure levels on the Fuji. I can only adjust up or down the light intake. I can�t set the camera for the equivalent of shutter speeds (let alone a �b� setting, for open lens)

I know this already, but brought the digital anyway.

That said, let me say this: if, while taking Jay-Dog out for his usual 1:30 am toilet run I notice a huge Northern Lights show, I will still be using the digital.

Why?

Because my lithium batteries are dead in the Rebel. That shows you how long it�s been since I used it, doesn�t it?

Oh well�.

At least I took a decent shot of the moon:

I like it better as a black and white, though:

Better pick up some lithium batteries this weekend. I might need a better low-light camera for something in the future�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top