Today's music?

Dressy Bessy - "self-titled" (2003- Kindercore Records)....catchy power pop....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Nov. 02, 2003 - 5:21 p.m.

A Sunday entry, full of random thoughts�

The work garden was tilled today.

Garlic is in the ground too. The soil was at the absolute perfect state for machine manipulation- the light rain yesterday only softened it up. It didn�t make things to moist too work, in other words.

I left the house with the tiller loaded up in the back of the Hillbilly truck (along with a bag of 12-12-12 and the broadcast spreader) with the idea that I would be doing this job by myself. Codeman told me this morning that he had too much homework to help me. I told him I could do the work by myself, but I think he thought about it a little because he pulled up to the garden bed about 30 minutes after I did. I was in the process of spreading the fertilizer (that's what the 12-12-12 is) when he walked up to the garden. I just told him what I needed done (pulling out the last of the dead stuff) and went to the task at hand.

I made the first pass, and then let him run the tiller while I planted part of my main garlic crop while he made the second strip. After he finished his strip, I made the third pass. He did the 4th, and I finished planting the garlic. I even had time to spread the leaves while he finished the last outside pass.

We split the last bit of tilling in half (turning the leaves under after already breaking up the soil was quite easy), and were out of the storage by 12:15.

Only missed the first quarter of the Bears win(20-7 over the fire-damaged, hapless San Diego Chargers).

Pretty easy work, considering how important it is for the success of next year�s crop�..


Carnival (on HBO) has to be the creepiest series I have watched since the long-gone ABC show, Twin Peaks

I think we are up to episode 8 (we watch the new show each week a few days after it premiers. Our Cableco now has the equivalency of �Pay-per-view� at no cost for Starz, HBO, and Showtime, allowing us to watch the latest episode whenever we feel like it after it premiers).

This show just gives me the Willies. Parents using their daughters as strippers (this is set in the 1930�s , mind you), a wanderer who can heal people (even if other creatures have to die around him while he �heals� others), and a mute fortune teller don�t even scratch the sleazy surface of this serial.

We just finished watching last week�s show (after the Bears win- did I mention that the Bears won another game? 3rd win of the year- as many as they won all last year? How creepy is that, btw?)

The sick thing is- I am looking forward to whatever happens tonight in episode 9.

Creepy�.


Sheb Wooley died recently, and I didn�t even hear about it until reading the paper this morning.

Sad.

He is best known for his one (silly) top ten hit, � Purple People Eater�.

But he also was a bit actor in several famous movies, and was an actor on television shows in the early years of broadcast entertainment (he appeared in the show �Rawhide�, and was also an actor in the movies �The Outlaw Josie Wales� , �Hoosiers, and �High Noon�)

I guess the older I get, the more people who have had an impact on my life (real, or in entertainment) have to die�.


That�s about it.

We have a whole chicken in the oven, almost ready to be devoured.

Homemade rolls, canned corn, and stuffing make up the side dishes.

Pretty fancy, considering it�s just Lease and me.

Home-cooked food is one of life�s luxuries.

If 42+ years on this planet have taught me one thing, it is this: Never pass up the opportunity to enjoy a great meal.

Even if you have to cook the meal yourself���

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top