Today's music?

The Darkness - "Permission to Land" (2003- Atlantic Records)..can't decide if these "Metal" guys are spoofing, or real



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Nov. 03, 2003 - 8:12 p.m.

An entry full of links..plus- some scary news about your home-burned cd�s�

First off- the bad news:

All of those cd-r�s you have been stockpiling with songs from �file sharing� sites? Might not be playable in as little as two years, due to deterioration to the cd media!

I know- I also had read in the past that they would be good for up to 100 years, and no less than 10-20.

But according to this week�s Langalist, they may have a much shorter lifespan than that.

When you consider that I am using this format to store all of my photo files (basically, the digital �negative�), this is terrible news. At least with film negatives, I can always have another copy of a photo printed up if something happens to the original print.

Not so, if the cd-r fails.

I hate to think that all of my photos will just flake off of the cd-r�s , leaving me with only the prints I have already made.

Even if you don�t burn songs onto cd-r�s, this is very bad news.

I bet the record companies welcome this news with evil grins on their collective faces�.


Bingoguy sent me a link today to the Infoplease list of the 500 songs that shaped rock music. Like any list of this kind, it causes one to think, disagree, and think of what they would include on their own list.

I have to admit, the author of the list (that would be James Henke, chief curator for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame)

did a pretty good job of not only finding the musicians who helped create this form of music from it�s earliest days, he also did a good job of noting where major shifts in the field took place, with the right songs (most of the time, IMHO).

I�m glad he passed it on to me, and I linked it here because I think it�s worth a look if you love modern music�


About 6 weeks ago, I snuck a very small (4� long) bluegill into my 30-gallon aquarium in the living room. I did this to see if anyone would notice it, and how long it would take.

Lease found him in about 2 days. It took Codeman about 4 weeks. He doesn�t spend much time in the living room anyway, so 4 weeks isn�t that bad.

This tank has become a geriatric ward for the various cichlids and other tropicals living it side. I set this tank up in its present form about 9 years ago. It made the move with us from our old house, with only a couple fo fish not making the transition with the move.

About 4 years ago, I picked up 5 very small Jack Dempsey cichlids from a local pet shop/fish breeder. All of these fish flourished, growing to almost the maximum size that they can reach in this size of aquarium.

But about a year ago, something caused 3 of the fish to waste away and die. I tried treating the tank with drugs recommended by the pet store, but nothing worked.

That left me two of the Dempseys, along with a large yellow gourami, two angelicus catfish

Pretty empty for such a large tank.

Then about 2 months ago the largest Dempsey died. I think this was just from old age. One day-fine. The next? He stopped eating, and died in short order.

I didn�t want to just strip the tank down and start over. The remaining fish all are healthy. But I didn�t want to start up another batch of cichlids either. I have wanted to raise another bluegill for a while, and I thought I would see if one would get along with this community of somewhat-aggressive fish.

He has done fine. No fighting, no scared fish, hiding in the corner from the bully.

One problem, though- the bluegill won�t eat any of the flake or pelleted food. I thought he might follow the lead of the Dempsey after watching him eat. But, after a week he still hadn�t eaten anything. I tossed a small garden worm in the tank, and it disappeared inside of the bluegill so fast I almost missed it.

So, since then I have been feeding him mealworms from the pet shop. One problem, though- at $3.99 per 100 count (with many dead), this isn�t the way to go.

What to do? Of course- surf the Internet for a better buy.

Found it, too. this place sells them in bulk for $7.50 per 1000 (plus shipping).

Since they can survive for long periods of time inside of the refrigerator, this was a no-brainer.

I ordered 2000 (the minimum). This should feed the bluegill and the Dempsey for most of the winter.

And it will also provide me with bait, if I decide to try for some of this guy�s relatives at the Power Plant Lake this winter, too��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top