Today's music?

Rosey - "Dirty Child" (2002 - Island/Def Jam Records) 70's- tinged, soul-rooted white singer with a great voice...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Nov. 04, 2003 - 8:00 p.m.

The last gasp of fall (or is it summer?), clean teeth, and short-time fishing�

Late last week, Beavis did an audit of the employee vacation/sick/p.b. time book, and found something wrong in my favor: back in July, I took off for 2 hours to can some of my peach crop.

For some unknown reason, the lead worker at the time put me down for 6 hours of p.b., not 2.

That meant that I had 4 more hours due to me than I thought.

Since the weather has continued to stay far above normal, and because this week is winter truck inspection week, I decided right then that I would burn those 4 extra hours fishing one day this week.

The deciding factor would be the weather. As late as last Friday, the long range was showing today is the prime fishing day.

Why?

Because the high today would be in the mid 70�s, and the wind would still be blowing from the perfect direction, southwest. But serious change would be on the way: rain, sudden shifts in wind direction, and plunging temperatures.

The forecast stayed true to form. I had already filled out my 4 hour p.b. slip before I left for home yesterday evening.

One problem, though�

When I walked into the living room, I noticed the answering machine call light flashing on and off. I hit the play button, and heard the following message:

�Roadiepig? This is Dr. Dave�s office calling to remind you that your 6-month checkup is tomorrow afternoon at 2:30. See you then!�

Dental appointment, long forgotten, had thrown a monkey wrench into my plans.

I didn�t cancel it. I canceled the p.b. slip instead. I�m sure some in the office think I changed it to save my time off, but they can check my pearly whites tomorrow if they doubt my visit.


No cavities, btw.

Just in case you were wondering�


By the time I got out of the cleaning chair and made my way home, it was already 3:40. That meant I only had about one hour and 15 minutes of daylight left.

No trip to B.A.C.E. Lake, that�s for sure. It would be dark about the time I unloaded my gear if I went there.

Instead, I just hit my best fall spot on Lake Mohall.

This spot is located just before you go underneath Loss Bridge. I have fished this spot for years, and it consistently provides me with decent action.

The west side of the bridge has a shallow sand bar that runs about 100 feet from the edge of the bridge to a dogleg in the shoreline. The water dries up in this spot whenever any drought conditions enter our lives. That means there is only about 2�-4� of water there in full lake level. Perfect spot for shad to congregate, and larger fish to feed themselves silly on them in the months leading up to winter.

When I arrived at the spot, the wind was whipping the water to foam . The sky was a blend of dark blues, indigo and slate. The bad weather couldn�t be more than a few hours away.

I only landed 7 fish in the 45 or so minutes I was able to fish. But aside from two small crappies, the other fish were special.

They were all white bass, which is very good news. These are the first white bass I have caught in Lake Mohall in over 2 years. Even though I don�t fish this lake much, other people I know do. They have all reported the drop-off of the white bass population. So to just catch these 5 fish was a very positive thing.

The fact that all were larger than 1 pound, with two of them at least 2 pounds made them even more special. I had to carefully remove them from the water by beaching them on the riprap. I couldn�t just lift them up to where I was standing for fear that my 4 pound test line would snap.

I caught all of these fish on the same two tinsel jigs that I had used to catch all the small white bass in Carbondale a few weeks back. Not similar jigs- the same two that were on my rod that day.

I lost them on my last two casts, one per snag.

Too bad. These had severed me well.

I guess I should have retired them, as good at the had produced for me�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top