Today's music?

Steely Dan - "Everything Must Go" (2003- Reprise records) great 'Dan', as usual....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Nov. 07, 2003 - 10:19 p.m.

A quick update (yeah, like I ever do anything quickly)�

Processed 2 average sized pumpkins tonight (they were nipped by the frost- hell, it was a hard freeze last night), so that their pulp didn�t go to waste.

I ended up with 18 cups of processed goodness.

This will make a bunch of tasty pumpkin bread, lite desert bar( my favorite pumpkin/winter squash desert that Lease makes for me, and the recipe of which I would post here is anyone showed an interest in it), and other winter squash favorites for the coming year.

And I haven�t even stuck a knife into the giant squash I grew this summer.

It will probably good for at least 20 cuts of pulp, all by itself�.


Yeah, we got a very hard freeze last night.

Totally screwed up my late fall harvest.

My snow peas were frozen solid when I went to work this morning. So was my broccoli, which was about a week from forming a full-sized head.

I picked these, even though they were damaged. They were part of tonight�s supper, not as tasty as they would have been but not wasted.

I also pulled the last of Lease�s radishes (undamaged, since they were below ground) , a few nice heads of Chinese cabbage(gave all but one away to coworkers and friends), and most of the Brussels sprouts (in case the low hits the forecasted 20� tonight, killing everything not already dead outside).

I also gave away some of the Brussels sprouts, but still have at least 10 quarts of them left. I found a couple of recipes for pickled sprouts on the web. Never had them made this way before. Might even take the time to throw together a batch this weekend�.


I also pulled the two largest Brussels sprout plants from my garden here at home.

I had kinda ignored these plants, mainly because they have never produced much in my reduced light garden.

This year, with the hackberry tree removed from the east side, they actually kicked some ass.

How so, you might ask?

One of the plants grew to the height of 6�10�.

Yes, as tall as an NBA power forward.

I would have shot a photo of it and posted it here, but I did say yesterday that I wouldn�t post any more garden photos here this year, so���..


If you haven�t watched the ABC network show Karen Sisco , let me be the one to recommend it to you.

The fact that I am a big fan of Elmore Leonard�s writing (he wrote the book the show is based on, and is one of the executive producers of the show) might prejudice me, but that doesn�t take away from the top-notch writing and acting in this low-rated new show.

Give it a shot next Wednesday, if you have an hour to spare�


Do you hate those �motivational� posters that seem to show up at your workplace?

I do.

I found this website today. I think they are the perfect antidote for the syrupy motivational crap that usually ends up on the company bulletin board.

Yeah, I like their work better than that usual stuff�.


All three dogs were sick yesterday.

Having three dogs (2 weighing in at over 50 pounds) with stomach problem at the same time is worse than you could imagine.

I really need to invest in a steam-vac. The small Bissell can only do so much when food and such isn�t staying down in their bellies.

They have had nothing but cooked rice for the last 2 days. They have kept it down, which is a very good thing.

I really do feel bad for the puppies.

Each day they are sick is like you or I being sick for a full week�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top