Today's music?

The Mars Volta - "de-louse at the comatorium" (2003- Universal Records)..2 from the band "At the Drive In", back in form...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Nov. 10, 2003 - 8:01 p.m.

Nothing much was going on, so I didn�t waste your time yesterday�.plus- another rant on the Bears (I know- sounds like a repeat of several other entries here in my �journal�, but it�s all new)

Didn�t post here yesterday.

I was a little busy, working around the house. Painted the basement floor (fun!). Prep takes much more time than the actual painting of the floor. I have to do this job about once a year, lest I end up with a scraped up mess of multicolored cuts and gouges.

I also spray painted a picture frame (flat black-for a bunch of old Mohall postcards I have picked up in the past few years), a cast iron rooster and a base to a potpourri (brass, to match some other items that Lease has in the same room). Kinda cold for the spray paint, but I kept the cans inside until I was ready to apply. It worked out o.k., anyway�.

I wasted another 3 hours, watching my pathetic Bears loose another game (to an equally pathetic Detroit Lions team).

Yes, this confirms the fact the �fan� is short for �fanatical�.

Only a fanatic would bother watching this coaching staff get outmaneuvered, week after week. They are now 3-6, which some see as an improvement over last years (eventual) 3-13 team.

I don�t.

The Bears got an easier schedule this year than last, due to their bad record last year. They should have a better record by default, considering the get to play the other dregs of the NFL.

Yesterday, both the offensive and defensive coordinators were badly out coached by their counterparts on the opposition.

John Shoop-a-doop, who I have blasted here in the past, wanted to �fool� the Lions with his play calling early in the game. I guess that would be his calling for 6 passes in the Bears first six plays. This, after rolling up over 150 yards on the ground in both of the last two games.

Them to show what a genius he is, Shoop-a-dop called for a pass on the first three �3rd down and short� situations the offense had (all failed), instead of using the big, hard to stop halfback (Anthony Thomas- 118 yards rushing in last week�s game) to pick up the 1 or 2 yards needed to keep possession of the football.

And the defense?

The head coach of that unit had been blasting the press all week for noting that the Bear�s defense had only picked up 6 sacks (tackling the other teams quarterback behind the line of scrimmage) in their first 8 games. At this rate, they will smash the NFL�s single season record (14) of futility.

Boy, one of those �unnecessary� sacks would have come in handy during the last drive by the Lions, wouldn�t it coach? Oh yeah- I forgot. �You don�t need sacks to be successful�, according to the defensive coordinator.

Tell that to the players from the one Bears team who actually won a Super Bowl (only managed 64 of those �worthless� sacks that year).

I am so sick of these boneheads, I can�t say it actually bothers me when the loose a game anymore.

Each loss puts them one step closer to the unemployment line, and Bears fans (like me) one game closer to having a whole new coaching staff.

A record of 3-13 again would be enough that even the stingy owners of the team would have to make changes.

The Bears actually have had a couple of good drafts in a row, and have stocked the team with some pretty good young talent.

It will be interesting to see how good they can be, once they have a �real� coaching staff to develop them�..


I didn�t want to go off on a rant about a stupid football team, but that�s about all I have ratting around in my head right now.

And now you can see why I didn't post yesterday, too.

Sorry about that�.


Tomorrow is Veteran�s Day. Remember to thank a veteran for their service to this country. Don�t forget- many who served in WWII, The Korean War, and Viet Nam were drafted, and didn�t want to be where they were. They didn�t make the policy- they just served the country (Me? Nope- no draft, and I was not interested in volunteering. My dad served in Alaska, starring at radar screens during the Korean cold war) .

Tomorrow is also Tuesday, which meant that most of my coworkers burned vacation time today to have a 4-day weekend.

I didn�t. Lease has to work both days, so I saved my time for days we can take off together.

That said, I am off tomorrow. Plan to spend the day on B.A.C.E. Lake, fishing for several different species of fish. A cold front is forecasted to roll through late tomorrow evening, so the fishing might be better than normal.

It is supposed to be in the low 60�s , which is about 15 degrees above normal for this time of year. Even if the fish aren�t cooperating, the day should still be enjoyable.

Especially when you consider the fact that I have been behind the wheel of a plow truck, pushing snow, around this time of year several times in my 20+ years at the NDDOT��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top