Today's music?

Rosey - "Dirty Child" (2002 - Island/Def Jam Records) 70's- tinged, soul-rooted white singer with a great voice...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Nov. 21, 2003 - 8:40 p.m.

The fishing should have been bad today�.

Why?

When I left the storage, there was absolutely no wind.

When I reach B.A.C.E. Lake, there was hardly a ripple on the surface of the water.

Not good for any kind of fishing, but especially bad for White bass. They like the water turning, roiling with waves.

The lake was up about 2 � feet from just 7 days ago. Amazing how much water can fill after a heavy rain in the area. Considering the fact that some counties received over 4� of rain, it should have been even higher.

The water was still clear, though. Anywhere the waves caused by passing boats hit the shoreline, the water was stained a light shade of tan. This was from the clay, washing away from the high water mark of the bank.

The sun was shining, making for a very nice late fall day. Not nice for fishing, mind you: I prefer overcast, with a light shower thrown in for good measure. But pretty to be out in, anyway.

So, all in all a lousy day to fish.

But.

But��.

Someone forgot to tell the White bass.

I didn�t catch as many as last Tuesday. Like I said then, that was my best day of bank fishing for these hard-fighting fish. Ever.

But I did manage to land 31 nice fish. The average White was larger than last Friday, too.

I had my line broken 3 times.

Twice was when I had a �double� on. That is two fish, hooked on the two jigs at the same time. I actually had this combination 4 times today, and managed to land the pair twice. The other two times, the fish were pulling hard against my 4-pound test line, and the line just snapped. I know that I should cut the line and retie the jigs about every 15 minutes when I am catching a lot of whites, because the abrade the line something awful. But I was too lazy, and ended up having to retie the line again after it broke anyway.

The third line brakeage? I never saw the fish. It hit a little ways out from the bank, turned and headed for deep water immediately, and then made one hard, fast run to snap my line.

Probably either a walleye or a channel catfish. Both run deep and hard when hooked.

But since I didn�t see it, I will never know�


After catching about 12 Whites in my first hour, the wind started blowing. From the Northeast.

That�s right- fishing at it�s very least.

The fish shut down almost immediately.

I saw the few remaining seagulls working the shoreline past the marsh, so I decided to make the 15-minute hike around the water (much wider now, thanks to the rise in the lake level) to fish the shoreline that produced so many fish last Friday.

After removing all of the seeds and chaff from my hair and body, I set about fishing the shoreline.

I made about 100 casts in about 30 minutes.

I didn�t even get a strike.

Not one.

Strange how a spot can be so hot one day, and empty the next. The wind was even whipping the bank where I was fishing. But the Whites had decided to stay out of the area today.

So I made the long hike back.

Once I made it back to the original area, I decided to fish the shore where the wind was hitting the flats directly.

That is where I picked up the remaining 19 fish. Several were large (in the 1 � to 2 pound range), too.

The only downer for the day was my attempt to catch a few Bluegills. I wanted to catch a small mess of keepers for a meal next week. I needed about 8-10 borderline fish. I only landed 6 big enough to keep in about one wasted hour of drowning worms . Time I could have spent fighting more White bass, btw.

Oh well: I can always dig through the deep freezer. I think there might be a bag or two of last spring�s �gils left still.

Have to dig through all of those bags of pumpkin and tomato juice just to find them��


I heard on the news today that Michael Jackson tried to run from the police, rather than turn himself in.

I had a friend send me this photo, hot off of CNN�s website. I don�t think he will get away:

Looks vaguely like O.J. Simpson, doesn�t it?


So, what could be my last trip to B.A.C.E. Lake this year was a decent success.

I almost forgot: I threw all of the White bass back today. I have several bags in the freezer already, and don�t need to horde them. They don�t hold up as well as bluegill in the freezer, so I don�t want any more than I can use in the next few months anyway.

With the Sunday night/ Monday forecast still calling for some snow, I am just happy to have had another great late fall day on the water��


My grandniece Riley should be arriving shortly. Her Grandmother (Lease�s 42-year old sister) is getting married on Monday, and is having a bachelorette party tonight. Since Lease (and I) didn�t feel up to spending an evening in a smoky bar (I feel close to having another sinus headache, just like yesterday) , we volunteered to baby-sit.

Better check to see if the batteries for the digital are charged��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top