Today's music?

Revolution Smile - "Above the Noise" (2003- Flawless/Geffen Records)-- hard rock, in the vein of foo Fighters



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Nov. 26, 2003 - 8:38 p.m.

For the first time in many years: two Thanksgiving dinners in one day! Yeah! I am being sarcastic, can�t you tell?!(really, I don't mind. It will just require a ton of work, that's all)

Yeah, it�s just like when I was a child. We had to eat two Thanksgiving dinners in one day then, too. Back then, it was because my mom and dad were divorced. You had to make an effort to eat a bunch at each location, so as to not make one parent think you liked their food less than the other.

It sucked.

Nothing like being the child of divorce, eh?

We had to do this a few times when Lease and I first got married. Usually, we didn�t because her mom had to work at the plate glass factory. We ended up having the dinner with her on her schedule, which meant we might be eating Thanksgiving with her in mid-December.

For the past few years, she just didn�t have a dinner with her daughters. I don�t know if she went out or what, but she didn�t want to come to the dinner Lease and I traditionally made for my dad and sis (+ families), plus Lease�s sisters (+ families). She was invited, but didn�t show up.

This year, my side of the family is dining at Jules house, along with the rest of Lease�s sisters. Her mom won�t be there, because Jules and her don�t communicate.

So Lease�s mom is having her own dinner. Approximately 6 hours after Jules�s dinner, no less.

That means we had to cook food for both dinners. Twice the cooking, twice the food.

Twice the work.

Which meant we started much of it tonight.

Here is what was cooked (at least partially) tonight:

2 pumpkin pies (Lease�s mom.).

3 dozen hard-boiled eggs (to be made into deviled eggs tomorrow. The filling is already mixed, so assembly is all we have to do tomorrow. Half will go with us to each meal).

4 dozen dinner rolls, made form scratch. I made them brown and serve by only cooking them for 10 minutes. They need another 10-15 minutes to brown them at mealtime tomorrow (Lease�s mom).

3 large (home grown) acorn squash baked and processed into a puree. This includes butter, allspice, nutmeg, cinnamon, and brown sugar. Think mashed potatoes, only sweet and with squash instead of tubers (Jules).

I also cooked the pork chops I defrosted for a meal when I cleaned out the deep freeze last Saturday. I cooked them in a skillet with onions, tomato paste, garlic, salsa, and spices to make a filling for soft tacos. Probably eat that one evening this weekend.

Tomorrow morning, I have to set the alarm for 6 am. I will drag my tired ass out of bed, slap a 16 pound ham into a roasting pan, set the oven for 350�, deposit said ham into said oven, and head back to bed. This ham will be finished with a glaze made of my plum dipping sauce and a little brown sugar during its last hour of baking.

We also have to cook Green Giant� boil-in bags of Brussels sprouts for both meals. Yes, I still have fresh sprouts in the garden. I even had a grocery store bag full given to me today by Mr. Snow, my farmer friend and winter snowbird co-worker (grown on bedding plants that I gave him back in spring. They grew like wild, and he had too many to eat himself).

Doesn�t matter. The frozen ones are tasty, and are easy.

After all of the other preparations, I think we deserve a shortcut��


Hope all of you have a stress-free, enjoyable Thanksgiving tomorrow.

We will do are best to do that here in Mohall���..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top