Today's music?

Get Set Go - "So You've Ruined Your Life..." (2003 - TSR records) Hard to compare to anyone else- power pop-y and funny&#



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Dec. 01, 2003 - 8:47 p.m.

Fighting strings of 100 multicolored indoor/outdoor minilights�..plus- eggs and bacon? For supper on a Monday night?

I made brine today at work. Almost all day, anyway.

Rather than dwell on the mundane that is my workday existence, I will skip ahead to�..

What I did after I came home tonight!

Thank you for not moving along to more interesting writing. Which isn�t that hard to find.

You decide, after reading the next two short tales �.


First things first- after letting the mutts free to roam the backyard, I set to finding out why half of our Christmas lights were out.

I had a pretty good idea going in- those stupid grain-of-rice sized , 3 amp fuses that are in every string of lights nowadays. Most ore contained in the plug end, behind a sliding plastic door.

For some reason (people stringing up 50 lines on one outlet, causing not only their own but all houses in their neighborhood to burn to the ground? Maybe?), you can�t buy lights without these fuses anymore. The packaging warns you to never string more than 200 or 300 per outlet, too. So I guess 3 amps is about the draw that 4 or more string pulls on the outlet.

Or something.

Anyway- it is almost always the first string that blows its fuses when this happens.

That was the case tonight. I removed that first one from the rest, plugged #2 in to the outlet, and the remained of the line lit up. I replaced the fuses in the first string, plugged it back in by itself, and it now worked.

I counted up the lines on the piggybacked string. 8 different lines.

Just a few more than the recommended 3, right?

I now have another extension cord feeding the last 5 lines, and the original cord feeding the first three.

Why didn�t I divided them up equally? Because the first string on the line is a Kodak� brand string of lights. I don�t think you can buy these anymore. I bought mine about 4 years ago, and I am down to just this one line (they have yellow plugs, unlike the usual green ones). They have had the most blown fuses of any brand I have ever bought.

I highly recommend that you avoid this brand if they are available in your area.

No blown fuses yet tonight. That is a good sign.

Blah Blah lines fuses lights blah blah blown blah lines blah amps blah blah blah�.

Maybe I was wrong. Brines isn�t as boring as that story. I�ll move along��


Cooked breakfast for dinner tonight.

I used to do that more often. I can�t remember the last time we cooked eggs, meat, and hash browns any time but Sunday morning.

We didn�t bother with a big breakfast Sunday. Codeman went in to the clinic early to run the dogs (you know- put them in the �runs� so they can go to the bathroom, and clean out their kennels) , so we just toasted a few English muffins for our breakfast.

We bought bacon and such at Wallyworld on Friday, so we had the supplies. The eggs had an expiration date of next Saturday (seemed short to me, too- maybe I should look closer next time?).

I hadn�t planned on feeding Codeman tonight (most evenings he doesn�t eat what we do anymore), but when I called him this afternoon he said to expect him. And the Lovely Chelsea, too.

I gave him the choice of ground beef tacos (easy and quick), or the aforementioned bacon and eggs.

He chose the bacon and eggs.

And then he ran late. Since we don�t fix most of this meal ahead of time (bacon only), that meant we had to cook two separate meals.

Good, stick-to-your-ribs meal.

A little too much work for Lease and I on a weekday evening, but nobody complained about the end results�.


Maybe you SHOULD have skipped this entry and read C-Span or something else after all��


One last thing- y�all see the cop car video of Cincinnati�s finest and the 400 pound, angel dust and cocaine fueled angry man? If not, it makes the Rodney King video look tame, as far as the number of blows struck trying to get this man to stay on the ground.

He died, too. Something about having an enlarged heart (400 pound frames will do that to the heart, drugs in his system, and fighting 6 men with metal battons will have that kinda effect on you.

When I first saw the video (you can see it here, if you haven�t already), I thought , �Why would anyone keep getting up, after being struck so many times?�

Angel dust, man. What a great drug! Makes you think you�re invincible, and tends to fuck your mind up a little bit in the process.

Since this happened in Cincinnati, this is being portrayed as another racial issue. They have had their share of suspicious black deaths in the hands of police officers in the past few years, and the riots that seem to follow them.

In at least 2 of the past cases I could see where the Black community felt they had a reason to be upset. Unnecessary force is wrong, plain and simple, no matter what color the victim�s skin.

But I think they might have had no other option in this situation. Until they make a foolproof weapon that instantly knocks a violent person out (I don�t know if the officers had Tazers {shockers} at their disposal, or even if they would have worked, in this case), what other option did the officers have?

Any thoughts on this issue? I would be happy to hear them��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top