Today's music?

Joe Firstman - "The War of Women" (2003- Atlantic Records) Sounds like 1976, similar to The Counting Crows



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Dec. 03, 2003 - 7:26 p.m.

I guess it�s time I face the facts�. Plus- a request to take photos for the daughters of a close friend, and a death in my family�..

Winter is here.

I try to avoid this fact each and every year. I wear t-shirts and a lightweight hooded jacket to work as long as I can. That would be today, the last time I try to pull that off for a little while.

Or 4 months, more than likely.

The high today was only 38�, but the strong wind out of the east chilled me to the bone inside of the Hillbilly truck. Yes, I work indoors almost all of the time. That lets me escape the cold, for as long as possible.

But the cold has finally set in. The forecast is for scattered light snow or drizzle overnight (I am on night callout this week, btw), nothing during the day tomorrow, and then for two straight days of light snow to start overnight Thursday. It isn�t supposed to end until Saturday, midday.

I am not pleased by these developments��


To get ready, I dug my insulated hooded sweatjacket out of storage. I guess I should switch out some of my t-shirts for flannel and sweatshirts.

It gets damn cold quickly inside of a moving snowplow truck. Much quicker, if the truck dies or decides to burst out in flames�.


Had a phone call at supper tonight. I feared it was someone from NDDOT calling me into work.

It wasn�t.

It was our friend Jill. She was calling for her daughters (19 and 13 years old). The girls want to give their parents a nice photograph of themselves for Christmas.

Why they called me for this, I don�t know. I guess they wanted to know where I would go if I wanted a photograph taken of my family.

I told her that I could try to shoot the photos for them this Sunday, barring a heavy snow covering the ground and making me sleep-deprived and grouchy.

If we can�t get together for this Sunday, it will be hard to get things done in time for the 25th. They want the photos taken outdoors, not an easy task with the sun setting around 4 p.m. every day now.

I told them I would do what I could. If nothing else, I can at least try to shoot them before Christmas, edit them, and post them on Photogra .

At least that way they can see what they will be getting down the road�.


My cousin Mike died yesterday.

He was 59 years old. My dad was the baby of his family, and had children later in life than his brothers and sister.

I haven�t spoken to Mike in about 15 years. My dad�s side of the family isn�t exactly close, and Mike was a bit of an outcast to boot.

He was in the advanced stages of prostate cancer (diagnosed almost 2 years ago), and had refused traditional treatment for the disease. Instead, he was messing around with some holistic crap that wasn�t working for him. That might be the cause of his death, but it might also be several other things (a history of substance abuse can�t make fighting cancer an easy task).

I am sorry for my aunt, to loose her only son.

I wish I could say this had more of an effect on me, but it hasn�t. I just didn�t know him at all.

Two things that I remember about him from my childhood:

1.He cut off the tips of three of his toes on his left foot mowing his lawn in flip-flops. Never a good idea to mow grass is open-toed shoes, especially if you have a sloped yard. And are consuming adult beverages at the time.

2.He asked my dad a couple of times to let him take me to big league baseball games when I was 7 or 8 (making him 25 or 26). My dad wouldn�t let me go with him, because he knew he would be driving home from the game (3 hour+ drive) drunk on his ass. Which he would have been, at that time. So I never went to a ballgame out of town with him. I think we might have gone to a high school football game or two back then, but I am not sure.

He died alone in an apartment in a bad neighborhood in Springpatch. Divorced, a loner who refused to fight a treatable disease.

That is the saddest thing about his death to me���

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top