Today's music?

Big Collapse - "Prototype" (2003- The Militia Group records)...great hard power pop- they remind me of someone else, but......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Dec. 14, 2003 - 9:27 p.m.

I thought I would be off today, but I was wrong�

Another band of very light snow slipped through around 1 am this morning. Since there wasn�t any wind at the time, the snow just sat on the pavement. The remaining moisture on the road then slightly melted the snowfall, causing each and every route to ice up in a very nasty way. The night shift treated the crap out of it, but it didn�t break up by daybreak.

That meant a 6:30 am wakeup call for Roadiepig.

I believe my exact word (upon hearing the phone ring) was �fuuuuuuuccccckkkkkkkk!�

I hadn�t even turned out the lights until 12 midnight. 6 and a half hours of sleep, after putting in a long shift the day before meant that today would be a grind.

Luckily for me, we had everything cleaned up by 11:30. So I had my morning taken away from me. That�s all.

Not to bad.

I hurried home, and Lease told me to go ahead and watch the Bears (they were starting the rookie quarterback that they used a first-round draft pick for the first time this season! Like anyone besides a die-hard bears fan like me would care!) while she finished getting ready.

(warning: boring rambling about the Chicago Bears below! If you wanna skip reading it and go to the photos I posted today, I won�t hold it against you!)

When we left the house, the Bears were clinging to a 13-3 lead. While we drove across town, the Vikings scored a touchdown. This meant the inevitable was about to happen: with less than a quarter to go, the Bears defense would give up one more score, and loose the game.

We ate our lunch/dinner/only meal of the day at the local Lone Star steakhouse (tasty, but just a bit too much salt for us). Mounted on the walls were several 19� televisions, all showing some women�s college soccer game?

Women�s college soccer game? On tape, from last month or something? Come on- I know the Bears suck, but this was ridiculous!

I asked the hostess very nicely if she would change the channel for me, which she did 9give that girl a raise!)

The Vikings were driving the length of the field (starting on their own 10 yard line) , eating up the remaining clock as they headed to the Bear�s end zone.

And then something that hadn�t happened all year, well, happened: A Bears defensive player made a game-saving play.

Charles Tillman (another one of this year�s rookie class) went up with the Vikings Randy Moss (JERK!) for a pass lobbed his direction, and Tillman ripped it out of Moss� hands, intercepting both the ball and the win.

I know- the game meant absolutely NOTHING to the Bears.

Except for the fact they beat the Vikings (a division foe). And the fact that the rookie quarterback (Rex Grossman, from the University of Florida) had a very good d�but.

Oh yeah, and Randy Moss, one of the easiest to dislike pro athletes you could run over with your SUV (if given a chance) didn�t want the ball enough to bother catching it in the end zone.

Nice�.


Been editing photos most of the evening.

I have learned what I know about computer editing by both trial and error (as long as you save the original file, you can play around as much as you want. I learned that one right off), and from tips other people have given me.

I have been using the cloning feature on my PhotoImpression 4 program a lot lately. I didn�t even know what it was for until my D-land friend Kstyle fixed up one of my boat race photos this summer. He removed a distracting power line from a frame by using this feature on his editing program. That opened my eyes to what I might be able to do in the future.

I used cloning to remove the microphone that was covering our nephew Glen�s clothing in the Christmas pageant earlier this week, with o.k. results It was hard to match his shirt to the areas I had to cover, but it ended up looking better than the original.

The photo below (from his basketball game Friday) was in need of cloning, in my opinion.

I�ll let you decide if you think it needed work.

Here is the original photo:

I like the look on Glen�s face, but there were several things that I didn�t like about the photo.

1. The partial body of another kid, leaving the left side of the frame.

2. The circular light reflection to the left of Glen�s back. Minor, but distracting.

3. The radiator and the other players, almost gone but still visible in the background.

I only spent about 15 minutes with the clone tool. It was enough to take the distractions away from what I wanted to see in the photograph:

Yes, I know- the painted lines aren�t ruler straight. I don�t have a steady enough hand to cut it that sharply. But, if you look on the right side of the photo, the lines in the background aren�t totally straight either. That has to be blamed on the person who stood on the ladder, actually painting the wall�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top