Today's music?

Big Collapse - "Prototype" (2003- The Militia Group records)...great hard power pop- they remind me of someone else, but......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Dec. 17, 2003 - 5:38 p.m.

Sent home early? For what? Snow? Yeah, right�.

With a 60% chance of light snow (less than an inch) in the overnight forecast, the management at the NDDOT decided to send the night shift home.

Not that I am complaining. Our orders are to go home and rest whenever we are sent home this way, and I did. After finishing up Lease�s Christmas shopping that is.

It only took me about 1 � hours to find the last few things I wanted to get her. All of the things I bought today were on sale, too. None for less than at least 50% off.

I don�t know if that is good news or not. I love a bargain, but it seems like the big retailers are really cutting prices more than usual this year.

Anyway�..

I just checked the most recent forecast (after trying to catch a nap in the Lazy-Boy� for a couple of hours, and now they have backed off on the �less than an inch� to only mention �snow showers�. Oh yeah, and only a 50% chance.

I guess if I don�t get called in this makes up for the day a couple of weeks ago when they didn�t send us home.

Not that an afternoon off makes up for working a 20+ hour day, but I�ll take it no questions asked�


I heard today that the crooked former governor of the sate to our south and east was indicted on 20-some counts of being a money-grubbing, snake in the grass, no-good sumbitch.

�Bout time, is all I can say.

I felt sorry for the highway workers down there when he was in charge. He gutted their transportation budgets, and sent the savings to his connected political allies and campaign contributors in the Windy city. As bad as things have been here in North Dakota recently (with our worthless leader), they had it worse down there.

I hope they save a very special cell for him to serve out the remainder of his term (and, most likely, his life). One with a cellmate who remembers all of the things this crook did, and does them back to him.

I know- not a very Holiday-ish sentiment.

Believe me- he doesn�t deserve any pity from me, or anyone else��..


My Christmas gift from Lease (even though she won�t call it that) came in the UPS shipment yesterday. Since she isn�t calling it a gift (it was paid for with an unexpected bonus she received at work that could only be spent on-line), I went ahead and opened it.

What is it?

A new digital camera. A Minolta DiMAGE Z1, to be precise.

No, there is nothing wrong with my Fuji. It�s still a fine camera. But I wanted to upgrade to this camera for several reasons. It has more manual features, allowing me to set things like f-stops and the shutter speed. I couldn�t do that with the Fuji. It also has a 10x zoom, which is the equivalent to a 380 mm standard zoom lens.

I have to learn how to use this camera a few steps at a time. It is much more complicated to run than the Fuji. I keep wanting to set things they way I did on the old camera, and it just is set up in different ways.

The manual that came with the computer viewer is 91 pages long by itself! I think I will just keep it sitting on the computer desk, so every time I screw something up I can reference it to figure out what I did.

I haven�t had time to shoot many pictures with it (being that it was dark when I came home yesterday), but I did take a few shots of carrots and leeks, resting on the cutting board in the kitchen (chicken and leek soup was last nights dinner here at Casa Roadiepig).

I like the color balance on this camera very much. No need to jack up the saturation, when the image is captured vividly.


Well, I better try to get some more rest before I get called in.

Later, all���..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top