Today's music?

Big Collapse - "Prototype" (2003- The Militia Group records)...great hard power pop- they remind me of someone else, but......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Dec. 18, 2003 - 4:56 p.m.

Sleep deprivation doesn�t improve my crappy writing one bit�

I read somewhere that some of the best artists and writers produce their finest work when they obsess to the point of skipping sleep.

Don�t expect any such improvement to my writing, even though I am about 4 hours behind on my sleep for the past 36 hours�.


I ended up getting the call about 9:45 last night. It wasn�t even snowing at the time, but the management in London decided it was on its way.

It was, but it was too warm for the fine snow to stick the pavement for a while.

How long?

All I had to treat was my bridge decks until about 4 am

That�s a long time to spend, driving around and waiting for problems to appear.

Made for a long night, that�s for sure.

The official state weather forecasters had trouble with this snowstorm.

�Snowstorm� is too strong a term: This was just a typical Alberta Clipper snow, with very light snow falling over a decent period of time. It has been falling for about 20 hours here, and there can�t be 2� of the white stuff on the ground.

Don�t mean I won�t have to pull another night shift today. The sidewalks and road out front of our home are just wet right now, but that could change as the sun goes down. With the strong winds behind this front, I figure I have at least a partial night of spot-checking ahead of me�.


I slept in until almost 3 today, after hitting the pillow about 8:45 am. That would add up to about 6 hours of sleep. That would be, if I fell right to sleep (which I did), and then nothing woke me up until 3 (I didn�t). The puppy didn�t want to sleep while it was light outside, so he did little things to try to get me up. He jumped on and off the bed a few times (at least a few- I think I slept through a few of the trips).

I didn�t want to stay in bed past 3. I might not work tonight, and if I slept in too long I would spend tonight tossing a turning.

Not that is any different than most nights�..


I am finally making some computer-generated Christmas cards (as I am composing this, in case I need another reason for writing a disjointed entry).

I have had trouble getting things done this holiday season. Might be because I have had to work overtime before Christmas for the first time in several years. Might be because I have been a bit lazy this year.

Excuses, excuses�

Lease addressed all of the non-family cards about a week ago. I have tried to spare her this job for the past few years by making almost all of our cards on the computer. But, for reasons I can�t justify, I just didn�t get to it this year.

The family cards will be done by the time I post this crap, so at least I did that much.

She will be baking again this weekend, most likely all day Saturday again.

The weather forecast looks good, so I should be here to help her where needed. She usually has me roll out here sugar cookie dough. With ball of the other stuff she tries to accomplish, that job really wears her down.

Sunday will end up being delivery day, so this weekend is about filled up for us.

One positive (if I end up working tonight):

I can get up after a little sleep tomorrow, and then make the grocery store run for the week.

At least we won�t have to try to cram that in to our busy Sunday like we did last week�


Hey, Flying Kiwi finally had her baby! It�s a girl (Abbey Sue, and don�t ask me weight or length- I am a man, so that stuff goes right by me), born on Tuesday (I think), New Zealand time.

Send her a �congrats� in her guestbook, if you have the time�.


Just got off the phone with the winter tech at work: at least a partial crew, if not the whole shift , will be called in for 7:30.

Oh well- it�s not like I didn�t expect this.

Looks like another night of fighting off the sandman���.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top