Today's music?

Big Collapse - "Prototype" (2003- The Militia Group records)...great hard power pop- they remind me of someone else, but......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Dec. 21, 2003 - 8:09 p.m.

The busiest weekend of the year? At least I think it was �.

Here is the quick update (because I am about out of time):

I ended up working for a time on Friday night. I went in at 7:30, only after being called back by the duty tech. I was originally called at 6 and told that only 6 guys were working. Since I was #7 on the callout list, that meant I was free.

I mixed Lease and I a nice mixed drink, and sat down to eat supper.

And then the phone rang.

Seems #5 on the list decided to claim he was sick (my guess? He wasn�t, but I won�t know for sure until tomorrow). That meant I was next in call.

I could have played sick too, but I didn�t. I went in, even though I really didn�t want to be there.

We finished cleaning up what we could by 10:30. If one driver hadn�t taken his time driving in, we could have left then.

But he didn�t. We ended up signing out at 11:15.

That would be PM.

I flew home, drank that mixed drink with Lease, and was in bed by 1 am.

At 5 am, I woke up to empty my bladder.

Sproutman was in bed, but before I could return to the bedroom he came flying into the hallway. He was running with his belly inches from the floor. He looked for all the world like he was trying to avoid being picked up by a eagle flying overhead.

Strange.

I picked him up, and I noticed that his head was moving rhythmically, back and forth. His eyes were also moving in the same way.

I feared the worst: did he have a stroke?

I put him in bed with us, and he fell asleep right away.

We didn�t get up until 9 am. Once we did, I put Sprout on the floor. He couldn�t walk in a straight line. It looked like someone had just put him on the merry go round in the neighborhood park, and then tossed him on the ground. He just moved in circles, running into whatever was in his way.

I finally got a hold of my sister Saturday evening, and she explained what was happening. Sprout has a condition that some dogs develop when they get older. It causes them to loose their equilibrium, making them feel like they are spinning while standing still. Add to the fact that he is blind, and you can imagine what discomfort he was going through.

From late afternoon Saturday until the time I typed this entry, he hasn�t been left alone for on second. She told me to keep him calm, and the effect would be much less damaging to him. She also told me that he would either get better on his own, or would need to see the doctor soon.

He ate and drank fine all day today, and he seems much better now. Hopefully, he won�t need to have a doctor�s visit in the near future�


I managed to deliver all of Lease�s baked goods in about 3 hours yesterday. Most of the people she cooked for in this round are in our regular lives, so it wasn�t like I needed to spend several hours each, catching up on what has happened in the past year. We already know, because we haven�t lost track of these people.


Lease finished up her Christmas shopping yesterday afternoon. We also did our weekly grocery shopping, too (Kroger, instead of Wallyworld).

That meant today was a relaxing day.

Yeah, right�.


I took both of the big dogs for long walks today.

We all need the exercise.

When I came home, I spent the next 4 hours wrapping Christmas presents. Yes, I wrap the presents here at Casa Roadiepig. Lease doesn�t like doing it, and I can do a passable job for the both of us.

If the snow would have continued all weekend?

Everyone would have received their gifts in Wallyworld and Kohl�s bags�.


I also watched the Bears win another game they had no right to win. They beat the Redskins (talk about a team mascot name in need of a change!), 27-24.

I actually have hope for next year. The young players on the team look like they can play, and the rookie quarterback they waited all year to put into action has been nothing short of spectacular in his 2 starts.

Keep the head coach (Jauron). I didn�t think I would say that, 8 weeks ago, but I actually admire what he has done, keeping this young group of players together, in this crazy, no real quarterback, transition season.

Make sure you still fire the (offensive) offensive coordinator, though (John Shoop). If he comes back next fall, the chance of the team becoming a playoff squad goes out the window. Whenever I see him interviewed on tv, he always reminds me of Frank Gorsham, playing the Riddler on the old Batman TV show. If you are old enough to remember that, you know what a angry, talking-through-his-teeth man he is�..


I�ll leave you with two photos:

#1 was taken on Tony Boneheads walk today. It is of a twisted branched plant called a Harry Lauder's Walking Stick, shot from the ground up towards the sky:

Twisted, eh?


The next photo is of Codeman�s high school buddy, Ryan. He just finished his training at the Naval base in Pensacola, Florida. He is home for the holidays, before getting his assignment next month. He wanted to check in with Codeman (and the lovely Chelsea) before he leaves for whichever conflict awaits him:

Amazing how the boot camp experience cleans up a young man (or woman).

My hope is that he doesn�t have to see any action in his service to his country. Not that he can�t handle it (I think he can).

I just would like to see things settle down for our young men and women serving in the military��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top