Today's music?

Coheed and Cambria - "In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth 3" (2003- Equal Visions records) -deep, man.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Dec. 22, 2003 - 8:04 p.m.

Holiday dinner at work today�.plus- a puzzle for you

We had our yearly �End of year, non-denominational potluck� at work today.

Way too much food, as usual. Almost all of it great, too. No, I won�t say what wasn�t that tasty. Don�t wanna single out anyone here.

This time, I didn�t want to have much to do with the preparation and organization of the meal. After the way several people acted when I put together the fall cookout this year. I have just grown tired of constant griping, which seems to be the favorite pastime of several of my coworkers. Nothing you do is good enough for some of them. The fact that nobody helped clean up that day (which I didn�t find out until late in the day, due to the fact I had to unload a semi and check in a large shipment) soured me on the whole process.

Since this meal is just a potluck, no money had to be gathered. But I didn�t put this one together. Gordo did.

His first idea was to have the meal catered in by a local BBQ joint. It would have cost $8.75 per person.

That didn�t fly. Not surprisingly, because it is like pulling teeth to get some of these guys to pony up $3 for a bratwurst meal (complete with drinks and sides).

His next idea was to go back to the meal being a potluck, but with a twist:

He collected $5 from almost every guy, and told them he would use it to buy a turkey and a ham, along with pop and other items to fill out the meal.

He brought in a couple of those 18 quart roasters, and had me help him cook the meat. It turned out pretty good. The ham was one of those pre-sliced spiral hams. It was very moist and tasty.

The turkey was a 5 pound , manufactured boneless roast of breast meat. It tasted like a manufactured boneless roast of turkey breast meat- not bad, but not at all like the real thing.

Add to that the crock-pots full of Italian beef and BBQ shredded chuck roast, and all of the other side dishes, and we ended up with a bunch of tasty, heavy, stick-to-your-ribs food.

I don�t imagine that much productivity was received for the taxpayer�s dollar in the afternoon. Hard to do manual labor with your stomach filled to the top�


Believe it or not, the guys didn�t leave the breakroom a total mess this time. They managed to find the garbage can, and threw out their trash. Several helped put up the leftovers, and a few guys even helped clean up the rest of the mess.

I washed the dishes. When I was finished, so was the rest of the cleanup.

Maybe someone (not I) reminded them about the mess they didn�t help clean up last time?


All right, enough about state employees and gluttony.

Here is the puzzle I mentioned in the title of this entry�.

I took my camera along with me when I took the dogs for their walk yesterday morning. I haven�t done that in a long time. When I was younger, I used to load up a roll of film in my 35 mm, and look for things that caught my eye. Wasted a lot of film, but had fun playing with the camera that way.

I noticed the following bit of artwork on a nearby house a little while back, and I wanted to show it to y�all. The house is a large 2 � story brick house built in the early 1930�s. It is almost completely hidden by trees from the curb, but the front door is clearly visible from the sidewalk.

On both sides of the main entryway, there is a 4� by 1� terra cotta or ceramic section containing tiles. Some are just plain tile, and some contain what remind me of Egyptian hieroglyphics. That might even be what they are. Here is a photo to show you what I mean:

Look closely at the one on the bottom right:

Call me crazy, but it sure looks like one of the swastikas favored by Adolph Hitler (that should get me some unwanted Googling, don�t you think?).

My question for you is simple: do you think there is any chance that the builder of this house put it there for that reason? Or was it placed there for its original meaning? In many cultures, it was a symbol for good luck before the Nazi party co-opted it for their own uses. Click here, if you want to read a little more about the symbol .

Just wondering what you might think��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top