Today's music?

Campfire Girls - "Tell Them Hi" (2003 - Interscope Records) another great powerpop album overlooked last year....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jan. 01, 2004 - 8:09 p.m.

So it�s another year (as long as you go by the Judeo-Christian method of calculating time)�.plus- gardening in January, and taking down the lights�..

Happy New Year to y�all.

Thought I better get that out of the way at the start today�.


Seems like old times:

I watched the first 3 quarters of the Rose Bowl today.

In the recent past, this game has been part of the goofy BCS college football playoff system. This was set up so that the two best teams in the country end up playing for the �national championship� at the end of each bowl season.

It doesn�t work. But that is another story.

Because the rose bowl is one of 4 bowl games that rotate hosting the BCS championship game, it hasn�t been what it was for almost 100 years.

That would be the post-season game between the champions of the Pac 10 and Big Ten football conferences.

But, luck would have it that the #3 and #4 BCS teams this year were to play in that game. And they happened to be the champions of the Big Ten and the Pac 10.

Who Hoo! Just like old times!

Especially the outcome- the Pac 10 team almost always starts the New Year out by beating the tar out of the Big Ten champ.

Score today?

USC 28, Michigan 14.

And it wasn�t that close.

Aw��just like all the New Years days of my childhood! Watching the teams from the Midwest being smacked around by some squad from California!

Gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling all over�.


We made it to midnight last night. Even blew up a wad of fireworks at the stroke of 12.

We slept in until 10 am.

Yeah, 10 am. No kiddin�!

Well, except for the 7 am take-the-puppy-and-old-dog outside run, that is.

Once awake, we set about removing all signs that we just finished up celebrating the holidays. Lease set a new record for getting her home decorating back to normal this year. I don�t mind one bit. I know she has to spend extra time just trying to keep everything neat and clean during the Christmas season. If it is January 1st, the Holidays are over.

So take it all down.

Especially my part of the job: the lights and decorations outside.

The high temperature today was 58�. That is freakishly warm for January 1. The normal high (according to the weather guy on local TV today) is all of 33�.

Freakishly warm, like I said.

The conditions don�t get any better than this to climb on a ladder this time of year. I had everything down, wrapped up, and stored in about 2 hours.

I also cleaned up the droppings from our �livestock� (the dogs, in other words), rinsed off the patio, cleaned up the yard waste from the back yard, and covered my hillbilly boat with a tarp (to protect it from the coming snows).

Pretty productive for a day spent with a well-earned hangover�.


Did one other important job today: I finished filling out my seed catalog orders.

I might have put this off too long this year.

Yes, I know- most people aren�t thinking about spring planting right now.

I have found that the new items sell out quickly. The catalogs start arriving in the mailbox in early November. That means the most wanted seeds have been on sale for almost 2 months.

Oh well- I ordered far more than I need anyway. Just like I always do, btw.

If a few things are sold out, I won�t shed a tear�.

I planted some basil seeds today. Inside, of course.

Just for the Hell of it.

It would be nice to have a few fresh basil leaves for a homemade pizza in February.

I also had a stir fry for dinner tonight that contained �Rubine� purple Brussels sprouts (among other things) that I planted last spring, and only just harvested from the work garden this Tuesday.

So I guess that ties up a year in the garden pretty well, eh? I consumed fresh produce on January 1, and planted something to eat for the New Year on the same day.

Whoever said gardening is something you only do in the spring was not a true gardener��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top