Today's music?

Ryan Adams - "Rock and Roll (reversed)" - (2003- Lost Highway records) actual 'rock' from this alt. country guy....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jan. 05, 2004 - 2:40 p.m.

A late call-in, no overtime- but most of a day off with pay, so that�s not too bad�plus- photos taken on a cloudy day, and a link for a brain teaser of a puzzle....

Yes, I finally got called in for freezing precipitation last night.

Actually, it wasn�t really �precipitation�. It was refreezing of the leftover water on the pavement. The last drops of fresh moisture fell around 10 pm. Codeman came home about then, and told me that there was a glaze of frozen drizzle on the windows of his truck, and that he had to scrape it before he could drive home from the lovely Chelsea�s home.

Since they hadn�t called me into work by that time, I figured I was home free. That, and the fact that I was #7 on the callout list. If they had a few scattered problems, they would call a partial crew. That�s 6 drivers.

Turns out there were already 6 guys working on this problem. They had been there since 7:30 Sunday evening, too.

But when things refroze around 1 am, they couldn�t take care of all of the problem areas with just a partial crew. Gordo woke me from a pretty good dream (involving yours truly , a nice warm day, and fish hitting my jigs as fast as I could get them into the water. Why don�t I ever get woke by the phone when I am having a nightmare?), and I was dressed and ready to leave in 5 minutes.

Unfortunately, it took me a good 15 minutes to remove enough ice from my windows just to see to drive the Hillbilly truck. This, even with the aid of spray-on windshield deicer.

I even sprayed Lease�s car window before I left. I don�t know if it kept them clear, but it should have at least made the job easier for her at 6:30 am.


I hit the trouble spots I was sent to, and was finished double-checking everything by 6 am. Rather than catch a quick nap in my truck (only working 5 hours, I was wide awake anyway. Better to save the 10 minute power naps for the 12-hour shift, 24 hours without sleep days anyway).

I ended up washing the state truck before I went home.

Yeah, I was bored. That, and Beavis was all over Gordo for having a crew still on the road. Seems a few of the local counties didn�t have the refreezing problems we did, and went home when they had their 8-hour workday in at 5:20 am.

It�s not like this doesn�t happen the other way part of the time. Sometimes we get our county clear before the other counties, and we go home first.

Beavis doesn�t remember those days, though��


So, what did I do, once I came home?

I ate a bowl of cream of wheat. Exciting!

I took a 1 hour nap in my Lazy-Boy�, woke up ready to do........... something.

I called my dad, and took my step mom and him the 8x10 photo I had printed for them from our Christmas shots.

Since it was 11 am (their lunch time), I talked them into going to the local greasy burger joint for a cheap meal. 3 hours later, I am still burping up the onions.

Good food, though.


I brought my camera with me, and after eating lunch I headed out, looking for inspiration.

Hard to do, in this run-down excuse of a manufacturing town.

The conditions are brutal, if you want to take bright, colorful photos. We are on the backside of a cold front, so the air is occasionally filled with wind-driven snow flurries. It is very overcast. And, of course, it is winter.

So I drove around the old industrial parts of town, looking for something that might work if processed in black and white.

I have about 40 photos to go through. If I decide I like any of them, I will post some at my Photogra online storage area

For now, I�ll leave you with this one:

Yeah, I know- this one is in color. So sue me.

I just thought the hand-painted loading dock sign was humorous. Especially when you know that the warehouse it is written on is for the biggest furniture store in the area, and specializes in high quality home furnishings (not that you can tell, by the looks of the love seat and mattress sitting in the parking lot).

I guess they save money having their warehouse in the seedier part of Mohall.

I bet they pass the savings along to you, their customers, too!


Yes, I know this is just a simple numbers trick. 7-up� put this brain teaser on the Internet, just to drive simple folks like me crazy

It still cracked me up, so I thought I would pass it along to you��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top