Today's music?

Susanna Hoffs - "self titled" (1996 - BMG Records)..yes, the former lead singer for The Bangles- a good rock album, too



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Jan. 06, 2004 - 7:37 p.m.

Another reason to dislike winter (I don�t use the word �hate� for something this small)�plus- photos are edited and up for your critique�

The hillbilly truck doesn�t like cold weather.

Just like its owner.

This morning was the coldest day of the winter (so far). The overnight low was something like �3�. Not unusual for January, but not welcome either.

Whenever it gets this cold, things start to go goofy on the old Dodge. This morning, my starter didn�t catch the first 4 times that I turned the key. When this happens, the most teeth-grating grinding sound you could imagine. This happened once before with this truck, a few years back. I put up with it until it got to the point where I didn�t think I could depend on it finally catching after several tries. It isn�t to that point just yet.

Time will tell.

More disturbing was what happened to me on the way home from work tonight.

I was almost home, and was waiting for the traffic light to change at the intersection in front of the college in town. This is a busy road (actually, it is also a state highway, too). At 4 pm, traffic is basically bumper-to-bumper.

When the light changed from red to green, I pushed down on my accelerator.

And the truck died.

No matter how much I complain about this piece-o-crap, it usually runs. That is about all I can say nice about it.

But to just die when I hit the gas? Very unusual.

I figured I could just turn the key and it would start.

Not this time. I had to kick the pedal a few times, turn the key, and repeat several times before it finally came to life. I had missed the light, and so had the angry drivers sitting behind me in traffic.

I pulled up to the actual intersection, and made a right turn on red (no crossroad traffic approaching). Sure that that made the drivers behind me mad, but such is life�.

It ran fine the rest of the way home. I parked it at the curb, and revved the engine up and down a few times. It idled fine after each cycle.

All I can come up with was that I must have had a few ice crystals in my gasoline, and this caused the fuel line to freeze up for a short time.

At least that is what I am hoping. I don�t want to have a fuel pump put on the old beast right now.

Too many bills from last month to take care of right now��


I finished editing the photos I took yesterday. They are up and viewable at my Photogra site, if you have the time to kill and the desire to check them out��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top