Today's music?

Sinomatic - "self titled' (2001 - Atlantic Records) a great INXS-sound -alike band



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jan. 08, 2004 - 8:24 p.m.

Nothing like fighting with an inanimate object (boring �computer-related problems� entry today, but a link you might find helpful is included to make up for the subject matter)�.

The day after Christmas, I tried to install a wireless mouse onto this chunk of Dell-manufactured goodness.

The initial install failed.

Not only did it fail, it also decided to screw up my operating system.

Now, I still don�t know what I did wrong, but when I finished I had lost my Norton�s antivirus, my color was stuck on 16 color (not 16 bit- 16 different colors! Wheee!).

Not only that, but I had no mouse. Not the new one, and not the original one. The computer didn�t find one, even when it was attached through the USB port for mouse connecting.

Codeman became involved in my mess, and we decided to use system restore to get the old mouse to work. We picked a day earlier in the week, clicked on the box, and expected things to be back to normal.

Which, of course, they weren�t. Yes, the mouse worked again. But I still had driver issues with my monitor, and I was still missing my Norton�s.

Codeman spent about 4 hours, working step by step to do0wnload and reinstall the missing drivers. He reinstalled Norton�s, and all was good.

One thing was still lost, though.

I had paid for my updates just a month before all this went down. But when Codeman reinstalled Norton�s, it lost the warranty information.

I called customer service at NAV, and they told me there was only one thing I could do to get my updates back: I had to buy the newest version of anti virus, uninstall my 2001 version, and I would have a full year of updates.

Once I finished installing the new version, I could call back to the customer service line, and they would credit my Visa with the amount I paid a month before. This was the only way I could correct the lost program.

One benefit of this change was simply this: I paid the same amount for the new program ($39.95) as I did the month before for just the update service. When I bought the update service, I also was stuck with sales tax ($3.20). When I bought the 2004 version, I wasn�t.

So, after all the uninstalling and reinstalling, I had the newest version of the program, a full 12 more months of updates, and a net profit of $3.20.

Crazy? Yes.

I still don�t understand why the salesperson couldn�t just credit my 2001 with 11 more months of updates.

But at least it was fixed�


Until tonight, that is.

I started the computer up tonight, and a warning screen was on my desktop. It said my virus definitions were not up to date, and that I should connect for updates RIGHT NOW!

I did.

They downloaded, but an error message came on the screen,�Updates could not be installed because NAV files were in use. Shut down NAV, and then try running update again�.

I did this several times, all with the same result.

I ended up uninstalling the whole works again. After about 20 computer restarts, installation of the new program once again, and reconnecting to Norton�s, I finally have an up to date and up and running Antivirus 2004.

Yes, it was working up until tonight. Why it decided to become corrupted today is a mystery to me.

Only time will tell if it does this to me again�..


I will leave you with a link that I passed on to San-D today. She was having trouble getting the Win*M*X program completely off of her computer. Every time she starts up her machine, it reinstalls itself onto her task bar. She had used add/remove to take it off of the hard drive, but it somehow left an �orphan� file somewhere that tried to get itself going at start up.

If you know how to get to your start.ini file (damn if this entry isn�t starting to read like Geeks�R�Us), you can use this website to figure out what all of the abbreviations are in that startup folder. They have over 3800 different items listed and defined. I used it to rid myself of a couple of programs that I couldn�t figure out what they were, and it helped speed up the loading time from power up to being able to access the Internet.


Hey- wake up! I promise I won�t write tech crap here in the near future.

This crap has just tied up my last two evenings, and I didn�t have much else to write about anyway.

No more whining about my computer problems. Promise.

For now, at least ��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top