Today's music?

Maroon 5 - "Songs About Jane" (2003- J Records L.L.C.)... Picked it up because I love the song "Harder to Breathe".



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Jan. 09, 2004 - 5:39 p.m.

Adventures in dog walking?

After work this evening, I decided to take the two big boys for a walk. It was nice for a early January day (mid 30�s, and no wind), so I thought it was a good time for a little exercise outdoors.

I usually do this by taking one at a time, but I decided to live on the edge this time. I had both dogs harnessed up, foaming at the mouth, and ready to go at the same time.

It actually worked out pretty well, once I figured out which hand to put which leash into, to keep each dog on the side they preferred. Tony Bonehead must be left handed (or is it �pawed�?)and Jay-Dog right, because they seem to stay in step and untangled that way. I started out with the opposite setup, and they spent the first 5 minutes of the walk doing everything within their powers to cross over to the other sides. Once I figured this out, the rest of the walk went smoothly.

A couple of observations about taking two 75+ pound dogs for a walk at the same time:

1. The laws of physics are turned upside down, when it comes to walking on a slope. Uphill is almost easy, with 150 pounds of beast tugging you all the way. Downhill, on the other hand, is a major isometric workout. I had to do everything within my powers to pull back on their leads, less I would end up on my stomach being drug all the way. I would have looked like George Jetson, asking Jane to stop this crazy thing.

Old people out there get that one�.

2. It took Tony almost a year to figure out the whole �I am a male dog, so I have to pee on every vertical object on the walk�. Jay hasn�t figured this out yet, leading to many instances where I felt like I was being drawn and quartered in a mediaeval dungeon. I have started using a few command words with both of these dogs (stop, go, and wait for now), hoping that they get under better control. Surprisingly, it seems to be working.

Now, if I could just get them to both mark the same object at the same time, my shoulder sockets would be much better off.

3. No matter what time of day you decided to leave for a walk, make DAMN SURE YOU HAVE A HOUSE KEY IN YOUR POCKET!!! This especially important if you leave with your truck-owning teenager the only other person home at the time of your walk.

I forgot that he told me he had a haircut tonight. Since I was only planning on being gone for 30 minutes, I thought I was safe leaving to the door unlocked (I had taken the keys and my wallet out of my jeans when I came home, and once outside with two large dogs pulling me along, I didn�t want to go back inside for my keys).

No, I didn�t have a key hidden outside. I carry one in my wallet, but that�s my only spare. I guess I should find a secure spot outside for a spare anyway. I have been thinking lately that leaving a house key inside of my wallet isn�t a smart idea, in case someone steals it from me. They would have my address, plus a way to enter the house without having to even break a window.

Not smart.

Anyway��

Luckily for me, he was just headed a few miles away. He was early for his cut anyway, so he headed back home and let me in.

Never again will I leave without keys.

Or at least until I sleep tonight, and forget that this happened. One thing about old age- most of the time it�s easy to forget the stupid things you do , once you get a little sleep�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top