Today's music?

Nothing...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Jan. 18, 2004 - 9:09 p.m.

Strange night/day�

Went to bed last night with an upset stomach.

Should no better than to eat at Micky D.�s, but we did for lunch anyway.

At 1 am, the phone rings. It�s Gordo, wanting me to come into work.

Partial crew. Ice on a few bridge decks around the county.

I got out of bed, started putting my clothes on, and the rumbling in my belly made me decide that I couldn�t drag myself into the storage. I called Gordo back, and asked if he could get someone else (the callout was just 6 guys). He said no problem, he would call the next guy on the list to cover for me.

Climbing back into bed, knowing that I just lost a 6 hour of pay (3 hours show up x 2 for Sunday, negotiated for us by the Teamsters), I really didn�t fell very good.

Don�t know if it was the upset stomach or the blown overtime pay�


Woke up felling much better. After taking it easy today (except for taking the two big dogs for a long walk this morning), I settled in to watch the NFL final four, aka the NFC and AFC championship game.

I called Gordo around noon, and thanked him for getting someone else to work for me. I checked if I was eligible to work if they needed the night shift again today. Since I told him at 1 am that both Lease and I had food poisoning, he said that he had put me down for sickness in family. That made me still #1 on my shift, in case anything came up after 3:30 pm today.

I missed the first half of the New England/ Indianapolis game, doing this and that�s around the house. I was able to see most of the second half of the game until�

The damn phone rang.

It was Gordo again, wanting to know if I felt good enough to come in to work. A small band of light snow had passed during the early afternoon, causing a few slick spots.

Yes I did. Feel good enough to pick up a little gravy money, that is.

We were in and out in less than 3 hours. Like I said- gravy money.

If I had worked the first callout, I would have picked up 12 hours pay for very little work.

Such is life�..


Both football games were bad, IMHO.

Not caring who won either game, I just hoped they would be close. Action packed would have been mice, too.

They ended up being neither. The Colts quarterback tossed 4 interceptions, killing his team�s chances. And Philly�s quarterback (McNabb) was injured early in the game, and wasn�t a factor the rest of the way. Without him, they are about as exciting as the Bears. And that�s boring, with a capitol B.

I guess if I lived in Carolina or New England, I would see the games as being dull.

Oh well�maybe the Super Bowl will make up for these bad games.

That�s not likely, though. Most Super Bowls are blowouts.

Maybe the commercials will be better this year, at least��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top