Today's music?

Jet - "Get Born" (2003 - Elecktra Records)...best album by an Aussie band since Men At Work's "Business as Usual". Soun



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Jan. 21, 2004 - 7:37 p.m.

A concession by me to my getting old�..plus- one more photo from Monday (last one- I promise!)

I couldn�t ignore the problems I was having any longer. I needed to visit the local Walgreens for a little help with my problem.

No, not that �little blue pill� kind of problem. Thank you for thinking that about me, btw�

No, I have noticed a little deterioration in my close up vision for a couple of years now. It hasn�t gotten bad enough to warrant a visit to an optometrist, but it has started to effect things I consider important.

Not reading. I can still read by holding my books or newspapers at a comfortable distance. Until I end up with the problem one of my former coworkers described as, �My eyes aren�t getting week -my arms are just too short, that�s all�, reading isn�t a problem for me.

Where I have really noticed a problem is being able to do anything close to my face. I have had trouble feeding my 4-pound test monofilament through the eyes of my smallest jigs for a couple of years now, especially if the wind blows enough to make my eyes water. Or if it is too dark to see properly. Or too sunny to see well, too. You can�t even see the eyes of the hooks unless you hold them close to your eyes, good vision or not. I have managed to work through this problem without help of reading glasses so far.

But, while trying to tie tinsel jigs this weekend (note to Zackal- I have extras, if you still want a few. Give me a call or an email. so I remember to put some back for you.....now-back to whatever it was I was writing about), I kept having trouble focusing on the fine detail work of synching down the knots. If I can�t see how well I am doing this, I am making sub-par quality lures. These will come apart much quicker than properly tied ones do.

Lease finally convinced me to buy these glasses Saturday. I settled on the narrow � glasses that ride low on your nose (on sale for �buy one pair for $14.95, get one free!� at the aforementioned Walgreens). Not very stylish, but they aren�t for wearing very often anyway.

I tied a handful of tiny (1/32nd of an ounce on size 10 gold Aberdeen hooks, for those who know what I am talking about) jigs with the aid of these glasses yesterday evening.

Hardheaded as I am, I have to admit- this was MUCH easier to do with the help of my +175 power, dorky-looking, black-framed, old man wearing, drug store reading glasses.

Getting old sucks�.


One last shot from Monday:

Amazing what water does when it hits air temperatures far below the freezing point. The water in the basin feed by the hot water ditch (this is a nuclear power plant, after all, and the water is used to cool the reactors and to grow 3-eyed fish) never freezes, no matter how cold winter weather gets here in North Dakota. But about any surface overhanging the water that comes in contact with wind driven waves becomes encrusted with ice. This tiny branch, sitting parallel to the water�s surface about 2 � above the water level is a good example of what can happen. Why the ice formed into three circles they way it did, I do not know.

But I thought it made a good subject for my Minolta���

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top