Today's music?

Alexandra Slate - "Edge of a Girl" (2003- Hollywood Records)...a talented, young Canadian girl doing rock (no, not Avril-this



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jan. 29, 2004 - 4:14 p.m.

�Resting� at home, waiting for the callout (and taking mediocre photos of the snowfall)�..

The folks in London decided to send the night shift people home to rest.

Even though the radar was picking up decent snowfall at 10:30 am, I didn�t think they would do the right thing and give us the afternoon to catch a nap. They have been burned twice so far this winter by sending a crew home, and then not calling them beck in because nothing happened.

Both times it was the other shift, btw.

But they did , so I have been taking it easy for the past few hours.

I managed to fall into a very shallow sleep for about an hour, on and off. I just found something boring on the digital cable (a cooking show with a host who spoke in a monotone, and with an French accent did the trick for me) and did my best to sleep.

Jay-dog doesn�t understand the whole idea of my sleeping during the daylight hours. He spent the time between sleeping himself on the floor, and getting up and sniffing some area of my body as I reclined in the Lazy-Boy�.

Once I woke up fully, I figured it was a good time to get a few minor things done around here. I rechecked my on-line income tax form that I started last night, just to make sure I still had everything right.

I can�t actually file the thing until I get the 1098-T form I need from Codeman�s college. This form has the amount of his tuition and fees I can claim on my taxes listed on it. I figured the forms last night by using the two totals I paid for his classes since last fall, minus the student activities fees. I think that should be the proper amount, but I don�t want to file until I have the 1098-T form in my sweaty hands.

I just called the college, and the woman that I talked to in the business office told me (in a condescending manner that told me she is sick of being called about this issue) that the school has until February 2nd to have these forms in the mail. That tells me that they are still sitting on somebody�s hard drive, not even printed out at this time.

A bunch of crap that I can�t file my taxes because of one simple form. For years, Lease�s bosses were late getting her W-2�s to her, making our filing later than I wanted every year. Her new bosses got the thing into her possession early this week. Much better than in the past.

And now we wait for a single piece of paper with numbers I already know, before we can file.

Last year, that wouldn�t have mattered to me one bit. That�s because we had to PAY another $1300 or so over what we had already given to the IRS. We had to claim Lease�s prize from the Newspaper auction/game ($900 value) as income, along with loosing the child tax credit exemption ($600) , due to the boy being 17 years old at the time of filing.

To make sure that didn�t happen again this year, we both changed our payroll withholdings. The amount I changed them added up to about $1200 for the year. I figured that would leave us overpaid by about $300 or $400 dollars.

What I didn�t figure when I did this was how much of Codeman�s tuition I could claim (using the Hope Scholarship Credit) , nor how much the tax laws would change this year (with the ending of the so-called �marriage penalty�, and the tax cuts that were enacted back in the spring. No, we are not one of �the wealthiest 98%� that politicians constantly throw around as being the only people who would benefit from the tax cuts. If we are above 50%, I would feel good about or income).

Was that one messed up paragraph? That�s what I get for typing without a plan.

Anyway�..

Instead of having to PAY another $1300, we should be getting an actual REFUND this year of $*@%^.** dollars. That�s a BIG surprise for us.

Looks like I might get the back patio replaced this year after all, even without much overtime�


I just shot these photos from the window of our computer/bedroom:

(No, these photos aren�t up to the high standards that Sixweasels expects of me, but they do convey the snowfall, don�t they?)

Yes, the snow in the road is fresh. The high temperature today was all of 7� F., meaning this stuff won�t be melting anytime soon, too.

I better try to catch one more short nap��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top