Today's music?

Alexandra Slate - "Edge of a Girl" (2003- Hollywood Records)...a talented, young Canadian girl doing rock (no, not Avril-this



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Feb. 02, 2004 - 4:24 p.m.

A SuperBowl?�No, maybe a AboveAverageBowl, but not super(and the commercials were really bad)�plus-did I ever pick a good time to take my shower yesterday�.

First off- the shower.

Once I read who was to perform at the halftime show , I knew I had my perfect time to break away and clean up.

Kid Rock?

Janet Jackson?

P-ditty?

And Nelly?

(o.k.- I can stand Nelly. In very small doses. Because it does get hot in herree sometimes)

I don�t own a single album by any of these �musicians�. Not one.

So as soon as the clock ran out in the second quarter, I headed downstairs and did my business (shower, restroom visit, and watching of the Weather Channel, for the most up-to-date forecast).

I made it back to the Lazy-Boy� just in time to see the delay caused by the streaker.

Perfect.

I protected my ears from the onslaught these folks would have subjected me to, if I hadn�t left the room.

Little did I know��..

Hey, if CBS don�t mind putting her right breast on prime time, on the halftime of the most-watched television program of the year, I guess I can post it here, too.

(I added the smiley face, btw- I think the actual boob was frowning ;)

Thanks to this bit of �spontaneous entertainment�(as MTV called it) or �wardrobe malfunction� (As Mr. Timberlake called it), millions of people had to explain to their young children why the big man ripped part of the top off of the small lady.

Don�t think I am a prude- far from it, if you know me.

But am I the only person out there who has had enough of these stoopid, publicity-capturing stunts?

Janet�s brother started all this crap by fondling his own genitals in that video a few years back (He also beat the crap out of a car while grabbing his crotch. I think the song might have been �Black and White�). That one pissed a bunch of parent groups off, but I just ignored it. Michael being Michael, I figured.

I guess they figured they had to do something shocking, after Ma-donna and Brit-any swapped spit at the VMA�s last fall.

I guess if all you can do is make heavily produced studio albums, you think you have to be �shocking� to sell a few more albums.

So instead of people talking about the exciting finish to the game yesterday, all the news programs and talk shows are leading off their Super Bowl coverage with �Did they do it on purpose?� garbage.

That�s too bad, because for once the game was much better than everyone predicted it would be.

As far as that goes, the game was much better than the commercials this year, too.

Way too many crotch-related, 2nd grader-level jokes. Oh yeah, and a horse farting in a woman�s face, setting her hair on fire.

Genius!

Not!

I liked the Fed Ex spot with the alien who blends in at an office by wearing a paper �human� mask and playing a recording that said �Why don�t we use Fed Ex� anytime anyone asked him a question. That one was different, and well made, too.

Jimi Hendrix at age 9, choosing a Pepsi instead of a Coke (and a guitar instead of an accordion because of where the pop machines were located) was a very effective spot that didn�t need any references to bathroom humor to make me laugh.

The AOL High Speed spots staring the father and sons from the Orange County Chopper Discovery Channel show were funny, too. Might have overplayed them, though. It�s not like AOL EVER USES OVERKILL TO SELL THEIR PRODUCT, is it?

Otherwise, it was too many lowbrow attempts at humor to sell a product, IMHO.

What do you think?

Am I just getting old, or were the 2.1 million dollar per 30 seconds of airtime commercials just lame this year?


I am still stuck on the night shift. I didn�t get the call early this morning, but 5 guys on my shift did. There was supposed to be some light freezing rain around daybreak, but the air was too warm. They went home at 7:30 am.

The rest of our shift (myself included) was sent home at 11:30 for rest. The weather-forecasting folks are still calling for an inch or two of the white stuff overnight.

I guess I better go throw some supper together, in case the decide to call us back in before 7:30��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top